Results of Max Test Week

Every fourth week in my program, I test the major lifts* I’m doing to set new 1-5 rep maxes for the next phase.  I also deload the secondary lifts.  It was nice that the test week landed on the first week of spring break from school.  I was able to get caught up on sleep and I also had a couple of days of maintenance calories.  The combination of rest and food made for a successful test week.

*We switched out the standard powerlifting exercises to ones that I could progress on with a lower risk of injury.

Bench Press

  • Last month: 105 x 2
  • Now: 110 x 3
  • All Time PR: 120 x 2 in July 2014

Hammer Smith Delt Press

  • Last month: 45 x 3
  • Now: 45 x 5
  • All Time PR: 55 x 4 in Dec 2013

Barbell Row

  • Last Month: 140 x 2
  • Now: 145 x 3 – New PR

Leg Press

  • Last Month: 410 x 5
  • Now: 500 x 5 – New PR.  This one is significant for me since I had three quad pulls from August to January.  This lift replaced squats and I started it in February hurt.

RDL

  • Last Month: 200 x 3
  • Now: 205 x 4 – New PR?  I’m not sure.  I think I have done 225 waaaaay back when, but I don’t know where the log book is right now.

Leg Extension (Ok, this is a secondary lift, so I didn’t test it last month, but since I’ve had so many quad pulls, I used this lift to get a feel for my recovery.)

  • Now: 220 x 6 – New PR.  (Actually did 220 x 7 this morning.  Yay! It’s just been increasing steadily, but 220 feels heavy, so I’m working on adding reps now.)
IMG_4217

Screenshot from Gym Buddy App

 

I don’t know how long I’ve been in “contest prep” mode officially.  Did that start in January or February?  I don’t know . Some people (like my coach) keep track of these things, I don’t.  I know I’ve been doing some version of a cut/maintenance cycle since last September and it became a bit more aggressive in February.  Loss of strength was expected, but I like doing the unexpected.  I was very pleased to see legs are recovering and holding their own, but was not happy about the bench press.  I also wanted to see something more dramatic with the delts since I’ve been focused on bringing them up.

So, annoyed by what I perceived as negative data, I sent this information to Alberto (coach) last weekend.  His reply was that “usually two lifts going up is a great pace”.  I increased every lift over last month’s test and actually set 3 (4) lifetime PRs.

And I lost 3 pounds over that month.  As of this morning, I’m about 4 pounds over my weight one week out from the last show.  That makes me about 12 weeks ahead of schedule compared to my last prep, right?  Ok. That’s good.  I have more muscle, but let’s be real – I’m a 53-year-old, intermediate, female, natural lifter.  I don’t gain pounds of muscle anymore.  Ounces.  Maybe a pound or two.  The goal this time around is to improve conditioning without losing a bunch of what I’ve built over the last couple years.  I hope to appear bigger, but I won’t be.  Body composition will be different, though.  (Fingers crossed)

So yeah, I guess things are going well.

Soon, we’re going to pushing the bod where it’s never been before.  I’m not sure what to expect.  I’m mentally preparing for a roller-coaster ride.  I’m already experiencing and upsurge in mood swings.  Yay hormones.

On a side note, the cortisol seems to be playing nice.  That’s a relief.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, My Lifting Log, Weight Loss

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

