31 Weeks Out: And Now It’s Getting Serious

This was a tough week.  I suspected it would be since it was the first week after Thanksgiving break.  Other things made it harder to navigate.  There was an hour long staff meeting each day, Monday through Wednesday.  That’s three hours of lesson planning that needed to happen at different times those days.  My daily schedule is already tight, so losing those hours hurt.  I ended up shortening a couple lifts by skipping some exercises and I lost some sleep.  Really no where else to find the time.  There was one unplanned rest day where I decided to sleep in and lift after work, but Hubby needed the car that afternoon, so I didn’t make it to the gym.

Lifting, when I got to do it, was OK most days, but there was one really disappointing day.  I had some heavy deadlifts to do, so I split them off into their own workout.  I was supposed to do 5 sets of 3 reps at 220 lbs.  That morning, I could only handle 2 sets at that weight.  I had to drop the weight – twice – to finish 5 sets.  Another day, I was doing a couple sets of bench press with 105 lbs.  That weight should not have felt heavy, but it did.  Ugh.

Both knees have been sore the last couple of days.  Mood has been blue.  As always, lack of sleep is the major reason.  During the week, I have to go to bed at 6 pm to get enough sleep with a 3 am alarm.  That’s pretty early.  It’s hard for me to give up that time with Hubby.  I also realized this week that I don’t get much daylight or fresh air anymore.  That’s probably a problem, too.

I haven’t been at this bodybuilding thing that long, just 4 1/2 years, I suppose, but it’s the same as any hard thing I’ve done.  There will be mostly good days and a few bad ones.  The things I’ve accomplished in my life that I’m most proud of have been HARD things.  I draw a lot of discipline from my past.  All big things were done in small steps.  This year will be no different.

So what’s changed?  Why are things “getting serious” now?  I’ve been working with a coach online for the last year and we had consultations every three months.  He sent me a training protocol and the nutrition plan he wanted me to follow.  But now, we are stepping things up and I’ll be doing weekly check-in’s.  I’m excited to move into this phase, but also a little stressed about the increased level of oversight.  I have to stay current on my spreadsheet data input every week, instead of just getting it caught up every couple of months.  I use other apps to track things and then have to transfer that information over to the spreadsheet my coach uses.  I also have to be a little more precise about logging food.  I’m pretty good at that already, but I want to make sure it’s accurate.  It’s just a matter to adjusting my habits.

But I’m not going to lie – I’m a little afraid.  I’m not 100% sure I’ll be able to do what I’m supposed to do in the gym, keep food prep on point, and do this job.  I’m worried about how the lack of sleep is going to affect me.  But I’m going forward anyway.  The job is so demanding that having a goal to compete and a coach to do the thinking for me are strategies to keep my health a priority.  Otherwise, I’m afraid the job would suck everything away from me – again.

I don’t like being this busy.  I don’t thrive on it.  But this is my situation now and I’ll make the best of it.  And I have help – grateful for that.

1 Comment

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Life

One response to “31 Weeks Out: And Now It’s Getting Serious

  1. Colin DeWaay

    I remember when you couldn’t even deadlift 220 lbs, so there’s something too. 🙂 Keep doing the best with what you have Tammy! You’ll make it work, you always do.

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

