46 Weeks Out: Surviving Middle School…Barely

Please excuse typos – I’m writing fast because I have no time to be writing at all.  

First two weeks of teaching done and they were rough.  I have five classes each day and four of them are different preps.  This is a harder teaching assignment than what I was told about last spring.  I’ve been putting in 10-11 hour days six days a week.  I’m taking a break from lesson planning on this Sunday morning to write this update.  I don’t want the blog to fall too far behind.  It’s my journal and it looks like this year is going to be a roller coaster.

I worked through a cold last week that took my voice on Thursday and Friday.  Luckily, our rooms have “audio enhancement” so I could whisper into this mic and still teach.  I’m frustrated.  I’ve cried a bit.  But I’m learning.  The kids are great and the staff is supportive.  I’m slowly adjusting to having all my daily routines changed.  This school has a LOT of staff meetings – so prep periods and after school time isn’t always an option, so I’ve been arriving at 6 am to have four different classes ready to go by 7:30.  Last year, I had first period planning period, so I could arrive at 7 am and be ready by my first class at 8:30.

The new job has made training a challenge.  I live about 20 minutes away from my gym, which wasn’t too much of an issue when I worked at my old high school because it was on the way.  But my new school is only 4 minutes from home by car.  The gym doesn’t open until 4 am, I now have an extra 40 minutes of travel time, and the workout with a longer warm-up, made it really hard to get to work by 6 am.  I’ve been able to lift on Wednesdays, Saturdays, and Sundays.  Problem is that I’m on a 4-day split right now.  It has taken me almost three weeks to get through two week’s worth of lifts.  That’s no good.  There is an Anytime Fitness about 5 miles from home, so I joined my third gym a couple days ago.  Not only is it closer, I don’t have to work around gym hours.  Hubby and I are sharing a car and he needed it today, so this morning, I got my lift done and was home an hour before my regular gym opens on the weekend.  (I have one of those rare uber-cheap lifetime memberships to 24 Hour Fitness, too.  But because their clubs here are way across town, I don’t go there much.)

Good news is that I’m burning calories like crazy, so I’m not too stressed about eating more to keep up my energy.  Even on days I don’t workout or bike to work, if I’m teaching, my daily burn is around 2700.  That’s about 500 calories more a day than it was on a non-workout day at my old school.  I suppose my body will acclimate to middle schoolers and start to be more calorie efficient at some point. Hope not.  When it’s time to cut, it will be just that much easier.

20140824-100249-36169870.jpg

I wear this mic around my neck and there are speakers in the ceiling of my room. I love it.

3 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Life, Teaching

3 responses to “46 Weeks Out: Surviving Middle School…Barely

  1. Cindi

    “I’m frustrated. I’ve cried a bit. But I’m still learning.” This is what I feel every single day. I leave at 6 am for a job I HATE…to not get back to my gym until 6 pm and feel exhausted – mentally and physically because I sit at a desk all day. By the time I get to the gym, I don’t want to do the workout I know I should do, I just want to walk on the treadmill. I hate feeling like this. I have NO FRIENDS that enjoy fitness so I have no one that can relate to my frustration. I’m 50 and feel 150. I’ve gained 20 pounds in 2 years because I can’t focus on anything other than getting my butt to work and while I’m there, they want to suck the very life out of me. I’ve cried over it, just like you. I LOVE fitness and feeling good…it’s just my employer thinks I should work 500 hours a week. And I want NO PARTS OF THAT. What or where do I go???

    Like

  2. You have a lot on your plate. You are amazing for making it through 4 preps/5 classes each day along with all the meetings. I hope things adjust for you and that you end up with a smooth system/schedule that works better for you over the course of the school year. My last school was all about meetings during and after school, all the time. With 20 teachers, everyone was on about 4-5 different teams. Most teachers were smacked with 3 preps an occasionally 4, with a block schedule that allowed for one 105-minute planning period every other day.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

