My Current Workout Split

Since the end of November, I’ve followed this split:

Day 1: Lower Body Strength

Day 2: Upper Body Strength

Day 3: Rest

Day  4: Lower Body Hypertrophy

Day 5: Chest/Back Hypertrophy

Day 6: Shoulders/Arms Hypertrophy

Each body part is worked twice a week.  The the first workout is heavy with low reps.  The second one is lighter with the rep ranges in the 8-12 area.  I rotate squats and dead lifts so I don’t do them both during the same workout.  Some weeks, I just skip the deads.  I love them, but my back takes a long time to recover, so when I do deads, it’s like a third back workout in one week.  Rest is really important to recover.

I am seeing strength gains in my upper body.  Lower body is a little frustrating.  Last week, a left quad pull from last winter started acting up.  Really??  I’m assuming the last few weeks when the stress was kind of high hasn’t helped.  I’m pretty good at adding more weight to a set, but I’m also scared of getting hurt again.  I am not sure if setting lifting goals will help me or make me reckless.  Mind games I play with myself.  Ugh.

I plan on doing this split for at least another month and then take some progress pictures.  I’m seeing a little progress in my workout log so let’s hope it shows up in the pictures.

Leave a comment

Filed under My Lifting Log, Workouts

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

