2014. What to do? What to do?

I would like to thank you for following along with my journey.  This blog is important to me.  This is “me”.  The Facebook page is a different animal.  It’s too…temporary.  Stuff gets buried in the feed.  A post on the page is a lot like fireworks – fun but short-lived.  It’s cool for what it is, but the blog is more satisfying.  If I find a blog I like, I have easy access to a ton of content.  I know some of you have read everything I’ve written, and for that, you have no idea how honored I am.  Humbly…   ThAnK YoU!!

I want to write today because it’s the first day of a new year, but for the life of me, I don’t have anything profound to say.

20140101-130325.jpg

I don’t make resolutions.  I set goals when they need to be made and then I do a ton of work to get the thing done.  To me, every day is a new opportunity to progress.  I do need some concrete, measurable goals.  I just don’t know what they are going to be yet.  Ugh.  Frustrating.

But if I had to describe what I think 2014 will be about, I’d say GROWTH.

First, I’d like to work on my marriage.  We have a good one, but a relationship is always a work on progress.  There are things I’ve promised I would do and I haven’t done yet.  I need to fix that.  A promise to him is a vow in my heart.  I’d like that relationship to grow deeper.

I’m not planning on competing again until 2015.  My goal is to look better on stage than I did in June 2013.  By better I mean I want it to be such a dramatic difference that I blow my own mind.  I need more muscle, I need that muscle to be denser, I need to be leaner, I want to pose better, and have a better routine.  I’m willing to invest an entire year working towards those things.  I’m going to gather input from new sources.  I might even take a dance class.  I don’t know why I don’t make specific goals about moving a certain weight on specific exercises (like squat x pounds for y reps).  Maybe I need to reflect on that.  It might be helpful to me to do that.  Now that I type that…I think that would be very helpful to me.  I’ll get back to you on that one.

I’m training and coaching a few people.  Of course I’d like to grow my business, but there is a limit to how much I can handle while I’m teaching full time.  And retirement looks like it is something that won’t happen soon.  So I’d like to grow my client base slowly so when I do retire, I’m ready to jump into a new adventure.

I’m always grateful for the new opportunities that come along – opportunities to learn and to share what I’ve learned already.  I suspect more of that is coming in the near future.

Not sure what 2014 will bring, but I know I’m happy to be here.  Happy to be able to work hard and workout harder.

20140101-130348.jpg

A very bad picture, I know. But that bicep pump yesterday, in that light, made me all proud like a mom watching a kid do a recital.

7 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Competing, Life, Motivation

7 responses to “2014. What to do? What to do?

  1. ” A promise to him is a vow in my heart. I’d like that relationship to grow deeper.”
    I LOVE this!!!!! You continue to bring surprises to the table. 🙂

    Like

  2. You are a very inspirational woman! I agree with setting goals and working towards them constantly, not just at New Years! Good luck with your physique and posing endeavours! My goals for the year are very similar (at the bikini level)!

    Like

  3. Love the bicep bump… you’ve worked hard for every bump you have! Here’s to another great year.

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

