Reflecting on the June Show – What Happened to my Butt???

Please know that I haven’t developed an unhealthy body-image issue.  It’s been almost 6 months and today I was looking for a video, came across a a clip I recorded of myself practicing my routine two days before the competition and watched it.  And that’s when I figured out why I hate my show pictures so much.  I thought I looked different.  I knew what I looked like two days before and my physique looked different on stage.

I worked soooooo hard in the off season to bring up my glutes.  I have so many things to work on, I know, but I really targeted that one spot.  So when I saw pics from the show, I was really surprised to see… cellulite?  Maybe it’s just a posing issue, but two days prior to the show, I looked better.  Without a tan, standing in sunlight washed out – I see glutes.  On stage – nada.  Looks like I lost a nice cut in my left hamstring, too.  I am NOT a happy camper.  >:-/

20131215-195109.jpg

Both pics were from the same spot in my routine.  Leg pose was set, but the arm pose changed a second later.

But the glutes were so disappointing.

My lats were what I expected.  The mid back wasn’t there and I knew that.

20131215-202232.jpg

The mid back has been coming in more since the strongman competition.  (Sorry, I don’t have a current picture that does it justice.)

I’m not exactly sure what will be different for the next show, but I KNOW things will be different.  A different off-season, definitely a different prep, and I’ll start talking to different people.  New ideas are good.  Summer 2015 –  I’m not in a hurry.  Just keep making improvements for a solid year before I have to think about putting it through the stress of a prep again.  I’ve done two shows, enjoyed it, I know I’ll compete again, but I won’t ever have the physique I see in my mind unless I do this patiently and methodically.

I also had an idea about taking a dance class.  I need to learn how to move so I can have a cooler routine.

4 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Competing

4 responses to “Reflecting on the June Show – What Happened to my Butt???

  1. Colin DeWaay

    I’ll premise this with saying I know very little about dieting down before a show and then being stage ready, but I’ve heard plenty about how much your body can change just from how you approach those last couple of days. Do you think something in your diet could have anything to do with it, like something made you more “puffy” or anything? Just curious, I honestly have no clue and it’s wild those pics are just two days apart.

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

