Thoughts After Strong Woman

there is no finish line

It’s Monday after the meet on Saturday. I am soooo sore! Except for legs, which means I didn’t use them enough, I guess. I’ve been reviewing the video and can see things I can improve. So I guess that means I’m open to doing this again.

It was a fun experience. The general atmosphere is very different from a bodybuilding competition.  A bodybuilding show is more stressful. The strong man meet felt more like play. I noticed that many of the people there actually train together and everyone was cheering for everyone.  You wanted the next person to do something amazing.

I was told to expect a different kind of camaraderie than at a bodybuilding competition.  I’ve made friends at my bb shows and have had about as much fun as a person can have without drinking water.  But the strong man meet was pretty wonderful, actually.  When I got home, I was browsing Facebook and came across one of the more popular pages I follow only to find another thread of women bickering about food – name calling even.  Ugh.  There is more to bodybuilding than food and cardio, but that’s all anyone wants to talk about.  There is the LIFTING.  How about we talk about that? LIFTING is the whole point!  If something isn’t helping you lift heavier, it sucks and should be avoided.  Sorry – I digress.  But it bears repeating…

“If something isn’t helping you lift heavier, it sucks and should be avoided.”

I didn’t feel like I did much that day, but the next day – WOWZA! I felt like that truck I couldn’t pull might have run me over. I also had that same cold-like congestion I’ve felt after each of my bodybuilding shows. I assume that is some inflammatory response to the physical stress. And I’m HUNGRY. SOOOO HUNGRY!! I didn’t really diet hard, so this was unexpected.

There was no workout on Sunday or today, Monday. I’m not planning to do one tomorrow, either. There is some back strain that is not serious, but it’s slightly more than just the regular sore.  I’ll get a massage tomorrow.  I’ll decide then if I can do anything on Wednesday.

My Thoughts About the Events…

If you haven’t seen the video, here it is again.

Log Press, 90 lbs: I got three reps at this weight. The last time I practiced, I could only do two. After watching Nicole do 10 reps (I think) before I went up, and watching the video, I have a clearer idea of what I need to do to improve. I was coached properly, but just didn’t have a visual or couldn’t imagine the correct form. What I needed was time – and I have that now. I will start practicing with a much lighter weight, maybe even just a PVC pipe.

Farmer’s Carry (230 lbs) and Keg Carry (135 lbs ?)/Placement Medley: I had the fastest time for women – I think it was 44 seconds. Still room to improve. I saw a couple of mistakes that, if avoided, would have shaved off a little time. I also don’t handle the keg well. I think the keg was lighter than 135 pounds, but I don’t remember. I didn’t pay that close of attention because it didn’t matter. I had to move the keg.

Tire Flip, 450 lbs: I wish I hadn’t paid attention when the weight of the tire was announced. I was annoyed. The tire was supposed to be 400 lbs and I had only trained with the 350 lb tire at the gym. I let myself down on this event. I let myself get psyched out. I don’t think I would have been able to move it as far as Nicole did, but I should have been able to do a couple more flips.

Fire Truck Pull, 9200 lbs: Very disappointed. The only reason I wanted to do this event was to pull this truck.

Overall, I’m very proud of what I accomplished in the two months I had to train for this thing. I’m pretty sure I was the oldest competitor out there. I don’t know for sure, but you look at the faces – do you see any other 50-somethings?

And, based on how my brain as been chewing on this since, I think I might do it again.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 Comments

Filed under Competing, Strong Woman Training, Videos

7 responses to “Thoughts After Strong Woman

  1. I so appreciate you sharing your journey. I just turned 50 and though I cheered you on for BB, I didn’t have a desire to do it. After watching this event, I’m so motivated to train for it. I am just beginning my journey, but watching you has been so motivational.

    Like

  2. Nancy C.

    Totally agree with your observation about lifting. My main goal right now is fat loss and that’s what my trainer is focusing on. But I have goals in my head for my lifting that are as important to me as the fat loss. I keep pressing my trainer to let me do more lifting but given my age (59) and physical problems (recently diagnosed RA and bad shoulders) he’s taking it slow. Which is probably a good thing because I’m a greedy thing and would push it too far on my own. Love watching your journey and love your blog. I’m looking forward to what you’ll do next.

    Like

  3. Liz

    You GO!!! Great job! Thank you for taking us all along on your journey!

    Like

  4. The soreness is a sign it’s working…..keep up the good work!

    Like

    • This is a different kind of soreness. Imagine doing your 1 rep max three times. Just got back from a 90 min massage. Same woman has been working on my for a couple years. I’m grounded from the gym for a few more days.

      Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

