Limits

This week was defined by limits.

LimitFunctFig

Delta-Epsilon Definition of Mathematical Limit

No – not that kind of limit!!  I’m still on summer vaca for a couple more weeks.  Geez!  (But if you’re coming into my calculus class on Aug 12th, this will be one of the first things you learn.)

My body reached it’s limit with respect to my new training protocol. After a little more than a week, it just wasn’t recovering properly. Not worried. It’s a new kind of training with new demands. Coach removed a lift, added more rest days, and I increased the time I spent icing the sore parts. Specifically – my upper back. The rhomboids have always taken several days to recover after a back workout. For this type of training, every workout is a back workout. I know I need to use my glutes more and my back less, but I can’t NOT use my back for any of these exercises. I hope these muscles will get stronger. I’d modify the weekly schedule to do strongman only twice a week and other stuff the rest of the week, but I don’t know if I’ll recover properly unless I do NOTHING the rest of the week – which isn’t a good plan long term.

Food limits – I’ve decided to be non-compliant with Coach’s orders to not weigh and measure my food – for a few days anyway. I started again yesterday. I need to see what’s going on. If I’m not getting enough food, that would slow my recovery. Related to food logging – the Bodybugg website reached it’s limit, I guess. Got an email a couple months ago informing me that the website was going down and my account would be closed on July 20th. I had to start a new account using the Bodymedia website. I like the interface on Bodymedia better, but it made me really sad to log off my old site for the last time.  Every success story has a tool that worked for them.  Mine was the Bodybugg.  I’m still using it, but I’m going to miss that chick in the blue tank top.  She’s been there for me for a long time.

20130722-143920.jpg

I spent the extra time away from the gym tackling a major project at home that I’ve procrastinated for YEARS – organizing my home office.   My patience with myself had reached its limit.  A couple years ago, we converted a spare bedroom into a dressing room for models (hubby is a photographer). I had a lot of craft supplies stored in that room and all those boxes ended up in my office or on top of a dresser in the bedroom. And there they sat for the two years I trained and competed. I just walked around them. Piled more stuff on top of them.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ok – this next one will going to be a reach to fit into my theme. I pushed a client pretty hard for her leg workout the other day.  (And right now all my clients think I’m talking about them.  Hahahaha!)  Gotta push it to the LIMIT when you do legs, right?  In a text, she called me her Fairy Fitness Godmother.  LOL!  Well, photographer hubby has
20130722-143934.jpgprops!!  After my tire flipping, sled puling, keg carrying, get-as-dirty-and-bruised-as-you-can workout on Friday, I played a little dress-up and made this pic for the page.

About to start working on the next post.  Had a VERY disappointing ‘first’ at the gym today.  Don’t even want to talk about it, but I need to.  It needs to be documented.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Life, Organization Tips, Strong Woman Training

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

