The “Post Game” Analysis

I competed in my second NPC bodybuilding show on Saturday, June 22. I competed in the Women’s Physique division. I have a lot to share. Many thoughts. Lots of self reflection.

My “Hair Coach”, Nicole Adams, worked her magic again on Friday afternoon. We decided to add a lot more red to the hair. I love it! She curled it with a flat iron. Looks easy, but if I tried to do it myself, I’d burn my hair off.

Overall, I felt a lot better this time than I did for my first show. The water deplete is a pain, but it didn’t affect my energy or my ability to think clearly this time. The carb reload began on Thursday at noon, so that helped me function fairly normally – although very thirsty. I made myself my show day breakfast…yum.

Bacon, pancakes, unsalted butter, and maple syrup.

Then it was off to my makeup appointment at 7 am. Tina Mokuau did my makeup at the first show and I had her do it again. Gorgeous! She is my official “Face Coach”.

Made a little video right before the competitor’s meeting…

The tan = frustration. It didn’t go well. Spent too much time that morning dealing with it. Smudges, uneven. We were sprayed by appointment and my time was too close to the show, so I couldn’t get my suit on without messing it up. But the stage is a little forgiving, especially if you have enough glaze on it.

In general, the day was fun. Coach was there for me and four others he was helping that day. This was our second show together – he is amazing. Very supportive and protective of his competitors. He even stayed with each of us as we were lined up to ascend the stairs to the stage. It helps a lot to have that kind of attention. I will be doing this myself as a coach someday, so I’m lucky to have his example to follow.

A glimpse backstage…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After prejudging, I drove home, ate a burger and baked sweet potatoes, and laid down to rest for a bit. I never actually slept, but I did relax enough to get to that place between waking and sleep that can recharge a person. I had to be careful about laying on my tan and my hair. Tippy was fascinated by all the new smelly stuff (make up and tan) I had on me.

Curls up for napping.

Tippy checked my makeup.

I don’t have pictures from prejudging, but I do have a few taken during my routine at the night show.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I placed 3rd out of three.  Not unexpected, but it hit me hard.  First show I was 2nd out of 2 and now I’ve got another last place ranking.  The judging was accurate.  I lucked out and got a trophy because there were only 3 competitors.  I’m grateful to have received the trophies, none the less.

My girls. Very proud to have them.

I think I must have been going through some kind of post-show depression.  I was weepy all day Sunday.  I also felt like I was getting sick, which is how I felt after the first show.  I forgot about that.  So I sat all day, watched “Drop Dead Diva” on Netflix, played on Facebook, snacked, and cried off and on.  By the time I went to bed, I was feeling stronger.

Time to remove the tan. Yay!!

 Today, I saw pictures.  I’m OK with some progress I see, but I’m really frustrated by progress I didn’t see – the glutes.  I worked soooo very hard to build them.  I did, too.  But I didn’t get lean enough and I didn’t pose properly.  Ugh.

I’m ready to get started again.  But I’m NOT going to commit to a show next summer.  I’m not ruling it out, but there is also nothing wrong with waiting two years, build and experiment with different peak week strategies to figure out what works best for me without having the stress of being ready on a particular day.  I really need to be leaner in general so my skin will tighten up.  And everything I just said could be a load of BS coming from this post-show depression.  Heck, it may not be that even.  A single rest day will make me moody.  Peak week, with all the depletes and the pressure of posing and practicing everyday…the nails, hair, makeup, tanning…well I haven’t had a good lift in about two weeks.  No endorphins.

I’m back in the gym tomorrow.  I’m going to do a light upper body/lower body split this week with cardio.   I’m back on the food logging and food prep tomorrow.

And apparently, I need to go to the dentist.  Raging angry toothache came on today.  I feel lucky that it waited until after the show to flare up.  This would have been really hard to handle a week ago.

Ok – so that’s most of my experience I think.  I’m sure I’ve forgotten something.

 

9 Comments

Filed under Competing

9 responses to “The “Post Game” Analysis

  1. Liz

    You are an inspiration. God bless you.

    Like

  2. Debbie Sorrells from (Debbie's Weight Loss Journey Continues)

    Tammy, I am so glad you are in the world. You have made a difference in my life…given me perspective and motivation to work harder on myself and to stop slacking off. I hope to reach a milestone in my weight loss journey by Saturday when I run in the Fargo Run or Dye 5k. I hope to get to ONE-DERLAND by then. I also hope to beat my time from my last 5k I did last summer. Thanks for being here and doing what you are doing so people like me can get the encouragement we need to go on. ((HUGS))

    Like

  3. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Thank you for sharing your journey with the masses. You just never know what soul is out there soaking it all up and getting ready to change their own life because you are sharing your journey with them. Congrats on what you have accomplished!

    Like

  4. Danni G

    Though I don’t know you realize it but in this world of instant gratification you are once again, teaching a lesson. Patience, perseverance, and dedication are not something you can have for just a week or even a month to achieve your goals. It takes hard work. Long term commitment that involves ups and downs!
    Your show was a victory! You came. You saw. You kicked some ass. Now, you’re putting on your weight gloves and pushing for new heights! What would the Tammy of 5 years ago have said?! 😉

    Like

  5. Rachel

    I’m so sorry that you were bummed out on Sunday.. I think that is definitely a post-show let down.. Kinda like after a wedding or big celebration is over that you have been planning forever.. And then POOF! it’s over and it’s like ‘OK, now what?’ Hopefully this goes away soon! Get your ‘lift’ on and your hydratoin back and it will all be good again!!! thank you for sharing!!

    Like

  6. I’m still a novice in this sport. I remember how my “fear of the unknown” was hard to handle. I’m sharing as much as I can to make it easier for people who might want to compete to get an idea of what to expect.

    Like

  7. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I felt a little down in the dumps after I ran a marathon a few years back when it was over. Definitely the endorphins….at least that’s my theory. 🙂
    Congrats on placing and you should be proud of those trophies, this is a huge accomplishment!
    Excited to see you get on the stage again, whenever that may be.

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

