8 Days Left – So Far, So Very Good

I’m almost a week out from my second show, and surprisingly, I’m not miserable. I give all the credit to my coach. My calories have remained between 1700-1900 a day, I’m still lifting heavy, and I’m not supposed to do a ton of cardio. AND, I’m leaning out. He played with my macros a bit a few weeks ago and limited food choices a bit to start cutting water gradually.   As a result, I’m losing water and scale weight every day. It’s amazing.

Sure, things will change pretty soon. Like tomorrow. Peak week is coming. I’m excited to see what happens.

The suit arrived this week!! I love it.

20130613-203916.jpg

I belong to two gyms – it’s handy when you workout as much as I do. I get bored. I like having other places to go. This other gym has a nice cardio room that works very well for posing practice. I’ve been heading over there every morning. I pose or practice my routine for 45 minutes to an hour and then I do a HIIT cardio. I like bleachers, but I can’t do them every day. Very hard on my hip flexors. Today, I did hill sprints for the first time. It was not a very steep hill, but it was still a challenging workout for me.

I’m thinking about using that other gym for lifting this week, too.  I loved lifting at my home gym until recently.  The vibe has changed.  I used to be motivated by the number of bodybuilders around me.  Most aren’t there anymore.  There are plenty of figure and bikini competitors who are prepping for the same show I am, but they are doing it… a lot differently.  Without getting into specifics, let’s just say the place is getting too small.  Maybe I need to find out where the bodybuilders went and go there.

I’m frustrated with my posing ability.  I’m not smooth.  I look awkward.  I did a little YouTube research and found some new balance exercises to do.  I really wish I had more time during the school year to work on posing.  I intend to, but my days are so long already.  I’m sure this isn’t not an unsolvable problem.  I just didn’t have a plan.  I hope I can close the gap between where I am and where I want to be in the next week.  Probably have to plan to make most improvements over the next couple of days.  I don’t want to be too worried about it when I’m carb depleted and then water depleted.  At that point, it’s just a matter of rehearsal.

Ok – I’m beat.  Need to wrap this up, cook more fish, and head to bed.

4 Comments

Filed under Cardio, Competing, Videos

4 responses to “8 Days Left – So Far, So Very Good

  1. Liz

    Your drive motivates me!! So exciting that your show is around the corner. I’m rooting for you all the way!

    Like

  2. You are doing beautifully Tammy! I’m sure your posing will get better each day. Can’t wait to see the pics of you on stage!

    Like

  3. oh that suit is beautiful!
    I hope you’ll be sharing some post contest pix here.
    Best of luck as you continue to pose and prep.
    *anna

    Like

  4. Good luck, lady. Love those bleachers and hill sprints! I am a HIIT cardio junkie. It gives me a total Rush!

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

