2 Weeks, 6 Days, 1 Hour, 25 Minutes

The latest storm in my psyche has passed.  Thank you for indulging me and the support!

The suit is ordered.  The hair and makeup appointments are made.  The tanning is reserved.  I’m going to pay for show registration and my NPC card when I check in.  So far, the only money I’ll lose if I’m not ready for this show is the tanning – $110.  I made a bet with Coach that if I’m not in the right condition for show, he has to pay me back for the tanning.  LOL!

Ok, so it’s ON LIKE DONKEY KONG!

A few things have happened in the last week to ease my nerves a little.  First, Coach is back in town.  Not speaking to him for 10 days while I was trying to make sense of the body fat numbers freaked me out.  When we trained chest last Thursday, he pushed me to lift heavier than I’ve ever lifted.  So yeah – about three weeks out from a show, when I should be feeling weak from a cut, no creatine, yadda-yadda-yadda… with a spot, I did a working set of incline bench with 60 lb dumbells!  I warmed up with a weight that just a few months ago was a PR.  I feel great.  In general, I feel like I’m in off season getting all the food I need and lifting heavy as heck.  I don’t really notice that I’m in a cut during my lifts until I get  about 10 sets into my workout.  My right shoulder failed twice from the middle to the end of that same chest workout.  No pain.  It just failed.  Considering that is the shoulder that used to be so painful I cried during workouts, I’m very, very pleased.  She’s come a long way.

Second, the end of the school year finally arrived.  We started final exams on Friday.  A bunch of loose ends are getting tied up, so my focus can be on my prep now.  More sleep, less stuff on my mind, and more time to practice posing will reduce my stress.

Third, my scale weight has been fairly consistently dropping.  But it’s slow.  I’ve lost 10 pounds since the end of February.  Last summer, I think I was a little leaner this close to the show.

And the progress pics from last weekend look OK.  (I’m still working on posing.  Pictures are a great way to keep a girl’s ego in check. )

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m still pretty nervous about making this show.  I feel like I want to do more cardio.  That may just be my nerves wanting to do something when I’m not lifting.   Now that classes are basically done, I’ll be able to move around more in my daily life.  There are chores to be done, hills to hike, and bleachers to run.

Oh, I almost forgot.  Here is the style and fabric for my new suit that I just ordered.  I chose the color to represent the high school where I work.  Everyone there, administration, teachers, staff, and students, have been so encouraging and supportive that it was a no-brainer.  I might be the only teacher in that school’s history to have a bikini (posing suit) picture in the yearbook!

4 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Chest, Competing, My Lifting Log

4 responses to “2 Weeks, 6 Days, 1 Hour, 25 Minutes

  1. debbie bucy

    Love the new suit. You sound so much more upbeat in this post. I can’t wait to see the competition photos. Good Luck!

    Like

  2. Liz

    You GO!!!! Glad the funk is gone 🙂 Looking great!!!

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

