No Numbers

Colin has told me a couple of times to “do me”, so I’m taking his advice and moving forward. Feel like talking about something else today. Two blog posts in one day? Unheard of. Don’t care.

From 2009 to 2012, I took a lot of data. I watched my scale weight. I took measurements. I was a little obsessed with body fat percentage. I think I had my body fat checked with a DXA scan more than a few times. The last time I had it checked before the first show was July 2012. The scan read my body fat at 19%. The show was about two months away at that point and I was told that my target body fat was around 9%. There was no way I could get down to that number in the time I had left. Worry. Panic.

Coach had a great plan – ignore it. Focus only on the mirror.

I continued to watch my scale weight, but once we got about a week out, I stopped caring about that, too. I have no idea what I weighed on the day of the show. That seems to surprise many people. I don’t really see why. Didn’t matter. I was committed to do the show no matter what. There was no reason to know that number.

About a month after the show, I had the last DXA scan. Back around 20%. That’s when I decided once and for all that I don’t really give a shit about the numbers anymore. It doesn’t matter.

What matters is what I can see. What matters is that I keep making progress in the gym. What matters is how I present myself on stage. For the next show, I want to see improvement from the last one. That’s all.

While I’m not exactly excited about the quality of my posing, I am happy to see that my off season was productive. Especially since I’ve had a series of leg injuries since November.

And I am happy to report that I have absolutely NO IDEA what my body fat percentage is right now. Or my measurements. (I will have to take the measurements pretty soon to order my new suit.)

3 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal

3 responses to “No Numbers

  1. Liz

    I’m not too far behind you in this thinking. Enjoyed your post…as usual. Thank you for sharing YOU!

    Like

  2. Colin DeWaay

    Awesome! Wow there is a big difference between the two, that has to feel great! Throw those scales away people, you have the right attitude!

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

