Week 196 Update

I have no idea how to organize my thoughts for the blog anymore.  My life is so busy right now – and it’s good – but it’s hard to think about anything except what I have to do next.

TRAINING/CONTEST PREP

Today, I am 13 weeks out from what I think is my next competition.  I know some people will think I’m being negative, but I think I’m being realistic when I say that this is going to be a tough one to be ready for because of the date.  The show is on June 22nd.  The last day of school is June 5th.  I might be able to lock my classroom door for the summer on June 7th.    The custodians “clean” our rooms every summer, which means they tear them apart and will break or lose things that are not packed away securely or taken home.  It’s a huge hassle.  So it takes a couple of days to batten down the hatches.  And do that while finishing grades.  And hope there aren’t meetings to attend.  A disaster would be a room change or a school transfer.  Room change is unlikely.  A school transfer could happen depending on any unknown changes I won’t be told about until the end of the school year.  I’m NOT willing to be a good team player anymore.  That’s what made me so unhealthy in the first place.  If my teaching schedule is changed so much that I cannot do the job in the 35 hours I’m paid, I will leave.  Who knows?  I might just walk away – period.  More on that later.

Training is going well.  I’m making progress – my strength is going up, but my weight is not changing that much.  It seems like I’m growing muscle, but I should get new progress pics to see what’s going on.  I’m still not supposed to be eating in a deficit yet, but it happens on some busy days.  Cardio is still minimal – I’m supposed to be doing 4 HIITs a week, for around 20 min each.  I haven’t been able to get them all in.  Like I said, life has been very busy.  I either don’t have time or I’m trading the cardio time for sleep.  I haven’t been getting my mandatory 8 hours.

Coach is training me once a week, and while that’s why I’m seeing a lot of progress right now, it’s also a disruption to the routine.  He can’t see me when I normally train in the early mornings, so once a week I’m training in the evening.  As long as it’s a Friday, I’m OK.  Last week, it was a Thursday from 6 to 7 pm.  Which made my early bedtime impossible.  Which made the morning workout impossible – another skipped cardio.  I didn’t get enough sleep at all, so recovery was slow.  I think we’re going to keep them on Fridays from now on.  But he doesn’t want to train my “Friday” body part, legs, every week, so I have to rearrange everything so that the body part he wants can be done on that day.  This annoys me.

In a couple weeks I have to come off caffeine.  Joy.  Again – another reason why I only wanted to compete in July or August – never in June.  It’s going to be very, very difficult to teach and prepare my calculus kids for their AP exam in May without my brain.  I want to pick another show, but the school calendar is changing.  We are going back the first week of August.  The local shows here are in June and end of August.  It’s not possible for me to go through the carb and water depletes while teaching, so August is out.  I could look for a show in July, but I’d have to pay extra travel expenses, and that’s OK, but honestly, I’d really like to have a few weeks off before going back to work.  Teaching takes a lot more energy than non-teachers realize.

FACEBOOK FAN PAGE, BLOG, HELPING OTHERS

The Lifting My Spirits Facebook page continues to grow, which is a nice thing.  It does take a little bit of my time to maintain.  There are days when I think about quitting something- stress, I guess.  But I get emails or posts like this one several times a week…

Hi Tammy,
I feel like I know you, even I really don’t lol. But you really have been an inspiration to me.
Well I have some fantastic news! 
I am 60, have had numerous co-morbidities for for a few years. But turning 60 was my turning point, joined WeightWatchers, needed to loose 49 kg (107.8 lbs), joined a gym and started walking.
My son (26 years old) who has joined my on my journey suggested we do weights, as he had tried them previously and enjoyed it.
Move along 7 months, I have lost 17 kgs, doing the machine weights and really enjoying it. I feel powerful, and strong.
The great news is that in August at the time of my birthday my blood glucose level was 9.9 and my doctor wanted me to go on insulin. I told him I was going to change my life, so give me three months. My glucose went down to 7 at my next blood test, today my glucose was 5.6. My doctor is ecstatic, he asked my why I didn’t do it 10 year ago.
I told him I didn’t know Tammy White then!!!!
Your day to day message are a great inspiration, so a big thank you.
Regards Barbara, from Australia

I read that first thing one morning when I didn’t want to get up.  I cried.  How can I quit doing this thing now when I have a voice to share the message that it’s never too late?    Heard from Brazil and Portugal this week, too!

I don’t think I’m going to be teaching math for much longer.  I’m passionate about teaching, but the subject matter I’m passionate about is different now.  (Well, to be honest, I like math – never felt passionate about it.  I LOVE teenagers.  Love spending my days with them.  That’s the draw for me.  I never want to give that up.)  It’s a little overwhelming to go from 120 fans to over 3000 in three months.  The readership on this blog has jumped up quite a bit as well.  Between the two, I think around 40,000 people a week are reading something I wrote.  That’s mind boggling.  I’m working with about a dozen people online or in person.  That’s as much as I can handle right now.  Maybe, just maybe, I can use the tiny bit of free time I have coming in July to figure out a way to retire from teaching and start training and coaching full time.  There is that book I’m supposed to be writing, too.  Hubby and I are normal people with a mortgage, car payments, etc.  We need medical insurance.  I can’t just walk away from my job to chase down this dream.  Being a grown up sucks.

9 Comments

Filed under Competing, Life

9 responses to “Week 196 Update

  1. You deserve a medal for giving up coffee alone, besides all the rest… keep on plugging away… what’s meant to be will be & you will figure out when the best time to compete is. Isn’t it an amazing feeling to know that you’re impacting lives in such a great way? 🙂

    Like

  2. Ouch!!! Don’t worry..you’re not being dramatic or unrealistic…everything you stated is completely valid and any one of those things adds stress to an already stressful situation. I hope nothing changes and that you can go the June show. Also i think if your coach doesn’t want to train the same body part on Friday night every week..then your coach should be the one organizing and consulting with you on what to train. Ultimately they need to make sure that your body can handle it as well as you having the strength/sleep etc to train your best everytime…that’s just my opinion though. Good luck hun

    Like

    • I guess I wasn’t too clear about the workouts – Coach is giving me direction on what he wants to train and how to move things around. But it’s still disruptive to my mental flow. Probably awesome for my body, though. Every week, one workout happens twice and it’s cycling. This week it was back. Last week it was chest. It will be chest again next week. Legs happened a couple times already.

      Like

    • And thanks for validating my concerns about this show. It will probably be ok. The next month is going to be the toughest. Once I get the kids past that AP exam, the stress levels drop a ton.

      Like

  3. Liz

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts! I am a life coach and psychotherapist and am going to throw a thought your way that you can disregard, or embrace.
    You are doing amazing things! You are stressed for obvious reasons…you named them.
    Cut yourself some slack…some breathing room…some space to live life and go for a July show. So much will shift for you, in a great way! You won’t have as much time off before school starts again, but you will have so much more…starting today!
    I don’t usually offer unsolicited advice, so I hope you don’t mind.

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

