Training Update – Week 2 of 4

I don’t like being told what to do. But as a teacher, I know I need to pay attention.

Last week, I started a new phase that will last for 4 weeks. It’s awkward. I’m used to having more flexibility about my workouts. Now? Not so much. Coach is pretty adamant that I do exactly what I’m supposed to do on the days I’m supposed to do it. I’m pretty good about progressing the weight to match the number of reps I’m going to do. I’ve learned how to approach failure, without actually hitting it. What do they say? “Leave 1 or 2 in the tank.” But I will do too many exercises, too many sets – according to Coach. He’s probably right. So I’ve been given parameters that are not to be changed…

  • Monday: Back, biceps, abs. 25 sets total with 16-20 of those sets on back. 12 reps per set.
  • Tuesday: Cardio mayhem = flipping tires, pushing sleds, stairs, mountain climbers – all sorts of fun.
  • Wednesday: Chest, triceps, calves. 25 sets. 8-10 reps.
  • Thursday: Cardio mayhem
  • Friday: Quads and hamstrings. 15 sets each, 12-15 reps.
  • Saturday: “Rest” = food prep, laundry, home stuff
  • Sunday: Shoulders, glutes, forearms. 10 sets each, except shoulders get 15 sets. 10-12 reps

I like my rest day to be Sunday, but when I asked if I could modify this plan, I got a big “NO”. It was rough switching my rest day from Sunday to Saturday.

During the last couple of weeks, my macros were supposed to be 200 g protein, 200 g carbs, 70 g fats. I didn’t really see anything major happening and my energy level was down. I also wasn’t doing much cardio. So when I got the new workout plan, I also got 40 g more carbs to be eaten before lunch. The first week of this phase (last week) was pretty bumpy. Coach didn’t give me the new macros until Monday when food prep was done on Sunday. I had to scramble and it felt very unorganized. I started training a new client. Plus I had that TV interview thing on Friday. Fun, but disruptive to the routine.

The part of the plan that is the hardest to get done is the mandatory 8 – 10 hours of sleep a night. This is a non-negotiable. It’s soooo hard. Based on the time of day I get up to do the gym before work, I need to be in bed around 7 pm. If I don’t get home until 5:30-6:00, I have about an hour to get my last two meals in and visit with Hubby. I know the food will work itself out. But I really need some quality time with Hubby everyday.

This is Peanut. Sleeps next to me all night. He didn’t want to get up on this day.

20130212-122015.jpg

Overall, I’ve lost 5 pounds since prep started. Most of that was just bloated water weight. No matter – it’s gotta go, too. The calories I’m doing are right around maintenance right now. Some days below my burn, some days above.

The “big picture” plan is to increase my metabolism. That’s why I need to follow instructions.

From a lifting standpoint, the weights are going up. Part of that is having a cap put on my sets. I like to do a lot of different exercises when I’m left on my own. Too many. Part of that would be injuries healing – and that’s the rest. It’s just soooo hard to do everything I’m supposed to do when I have to sleep that much. I feel slammed for time all the time. Run from one thing to the other. Which is why I haven’t been blogging. I have a list of drafts with ideas, but no time to finish anything.

Sorry. Not a funny blog. Not a tug the heart-strings blog. Nothing deep and philosophical. Just a catch up. Shouldn’t have spent the time on it either. I have 7 minutes until class starts, so I’m scheduled to pee right now. (If you’re a teacher, you know what I’m talking about.)

Cardio Mayhem includes, but is not limited to…

20130212-132835.jpg

20130212-132845.jpg

3 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Nutrition, Workouts

3 responses to “Training Update – Week 2 of 4

  1. Cardio mayhem sounds fun. Keep us posted!

    Like

  2. I don’t like being told what to do either. To this day it still gets me in trouble; literally, today. Good luck with your training. You seem to be doing great and hope for all us 50-ishers.

    Like

  3. One Fit Mama

    I only like being told what to do, when I ask. LOL guess its good I’m training myself. Keep up the good work

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

