Well, That Sucked.

Today’s workout was…disappointing.

First time I did deadlifts since November.  My body forgot how to do them.  I’m not weaker, I know that, but I’m really tight on the right side because of the hip flexor injury.  I warmed up, I foam rolled, I stretched.  Felt good.  Then, I pulled the bar up and pulled a muscle on the left side of my spine on the first rep of the first set.  Stretched, rolled- again.  Did five sets total anyway.  No way was I going to quit.  I kept the weights light and was determined to teach my central nervous system how deadlifts were going to have to be done in this “new” body with new tight spots that will probably always be tight now.  Activated the core a heck of a lot more than usual.  Weight on the bar on the last set used to be my warm up set.  Ugh.  Oh well.

I throttled everything back.  Did three sets of things instead of my usual five.  Had to do different exercises than I planned to avoid aggravating that muscle more.  Finished back and came home where I keep many ice packs in the freezer.

Second workout in the afternoon was triceps.  The pulled muscle was annoying.  Interfered with getting set up and out of skull crushers, but the sets themselves were OK.  Still, I throttled back a bit and did fewer sets.

Not even going to load up the workout.  I don’t want to spend anymore time on this one today.  I did it.  It’s probably a good one – the bad ones usually turn out to be good ones in the long run…does that make any sense at all?  Don’t care.  I’m cranky.  Heading to bed with more ice packs.

* * * * *

Found this while looking for a pic to put on this post.  I didn’t know you could do this!  I might have to try it.  Click on the pic to go to the website I found.

7 Comments

Filed under Arms, Back, My Lifting Log

7 responses to “Well, That Sucked.

  1. One Fit Mama

    Tomorrow will be better – you went, you tried, you conquered!

    Like

  2. You still did it even though it sucked. No way through it but through it…Good Job! Today I go to local gym and find out what equipment they have. That diet diary app. you posted yesterday is awesome. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Colin DeWaay

    Well crap! At least you got through it, hope it turns out to be something very minor. You’ll get it back, just will take some time. I’ll take the blame for this one!

    Like

    • Hahahaha! I was going to do the deads this week anyway, but sure, you can take the blame. Turns out it wasn’t all that serious. Same old erector I pulled two years ago that just never heals up. Iced and rested. Felt kind of normal again this morning. Should be able to avoid pissing it off again until legs on Friday.

      Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

