Put Your Ego in a Box

There is that person who just won’t…shut…up. Ever. They don’t listen. They only wait for the next gap in the conversation to continue to “enlighten” the rest of us because we are clueless. Ignorant arrogance dripping all over the floor.

Do you know anyone who believes they know more than they really do? I was reflecting on this on my drive home from work today. I just want to tell them…“Put your ego in a box, seal it, push it aside, and LISTEN. You have a lot to learn.”

20130117-185839.jpg

I don’t know where “ego in a box” came from, but I like it. It just popped into my head.

Then I reflected.  I made a mental list of the times when my ego was in my way. That led to the thought…

“Get out of your own way.”

How often does THAT happen? For me? A LOT.  I AM IN MY OWN WAY A LOT.

With respect to my own health, it wasn’t the obstacles that stopped me – it was what I thought about the obstacles.  I was the one in my way. Seriously, there were really good reasons I didn’t take care of myself.  I could list them for you if asked…

  • I have too much work to do.
  • I can’t afford the gas to drive to the gym.
  • I don’t have time.
  • I don’t like how that food tastes.
  • I don’t have clothes to wear to the gym.
  • I don’t want to look stupid at the gym.
  • I don’t want to work with a trainer because it will be embarrassing when they find out how pathetic I am.
  • My back hurts.
  • I don’t have time to log food.
  • I can’t afford to buy the gadget I need.
  • I need training, but I can’t afford training.

When I was finally sick and tired of being sick and tired, I decided to solve the problem instead of explain why I couldn’t solve the problem.  So I guess I put my ego in a box. I gave up and admitted I needed help. I tackled each thing. The “gas to go to the gym” was a big deal for me. I decided that it was just part of the necessary expense to get healthy. I rationalized that if I could get off my meds, that would help pay for the gas.

Ok, so that’s it.  “Put Your Ego in a Box”©   is my new catch phrase.  I hereby copyright it.  Hahahaha!

3 Comments

Filed under Life, Motivation, Opinions, Venting, Ranting

3 responses to “Put Your Ego in a Box

  1. The first part of this post I think you are describing my mother in law.

    Like

  2. One Fit Mama

    Think I actually told someone to “please put you’re ego away”. One time. Geesh it felt good!

    Like

  3. Colin DeWaay

    Very well said. Most people are their own worst enemies. It’s not until the realize it that they make progress.

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

