Food Prep Challenge

Workout program is changing tomorrow.  For three weeks, I’ll lift twice a day on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.  I’ll do cardio only on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday.  I’ve done 2-a-days before.   They are tough.  The goal is to shock the system a little and increase my metabolism.  I’m still eating a surplus in calories, and that will be very important during this phase so that I will be able to recover.  I will prep more food this week to be ready.

Our oven is broken. While waiting for it to be repaired, we shut off the gas to the stove just to be safe. So if I can’t use the burners, I had to come up with Plan B for most of the food I prep for the week.

Headed out to the patio and fired up the grill. It was a little chilly.

20130113-190140.jpg

While the grill heated up, I put the sweet potatoes in a slow cooker.

20130113-190157.jpg

Here is the makings for my protein this week.

20130113-190216.jpg

Chicken grilled with Mrs. Dash Chicken flavor.  But I didn’t want to stay outside.  Brrrrr…

20130113-190231.jpg

I love red pepper and sauteed onions in my scrambled eggs.  But how to cook onions with no stove?  I used an electric pizza maker.

20130113-190257.jpg

And how to scramble eggs with no stove?  Microwave them in a casserole dish.  Took about 15 minutes.  I set the timer for 5 minutes at a time and stirred the eggs after each 5 minute period.

20130113-190319.jpg

I season the eggs with Mrs. Dash Tomato, Basil, Garlic.  Divided them up into 5 containers for my breakfasts this week.

20130113-190332.jpg

I wanted ground turkey for breakfasts, too, but I don’t have a way to ground meat.  So I used the electric grill.  I mixed onion, red pepper, and celery in with the ground turkey.

20130113-190352.jpg

Here are my breakfast burgers for the week.

20130113-190401.jpg

For a little extra carbs, I cooked up jasmine rice in the rice cooker.  Love the rice cooker!

20130113-190423.jpg

It was a frustrating prep, but it worked.  Food is packed and already loaded in the car.  It’s as cold out there as in the fridge – probably colder.  In addition to these things, I’ll eat almonds, fruit, spinach, and kale during the days.  I cook supper every night.  Usually salmon and veggies.

Oh gosh, I’m yawning already and it’s only 7:30 pm.  Better just finish this up and head to bed.  School night.

 

9 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Nutrition, Recipies

9 responses to “Food Prep Challenge

  1. Yiota

    Mrs White,
    as a 1st meal (break fast) you have mentioned eggs and turkey etc. then as snack almonds and spinach then for lunch chicken rice and vegetables or sweet potatoes? am a bit confused how to combine everything.
    Could you please post details of your whole daily nutrition program?
    thank you
    you are wonderful
    looking forward to your reply

    Like

    • I’m hesitant to do that because it doesn’t really matter. Every ‘body’ is different. I eat based on my training goals right now and my needs are specific to my body and my metabolism. All of it comes from my own research and my collaboration with my coach. How I ate 3 years ago was different.

      Like

  2. Wow – the food all looks soooo familiar… It’s pretty cold in AZ today too. Looking forward to hearing how 2x per day workouts go for you!

    Like

  3. Can’t imagine my oven dying! Yikes!! I caught my broiler on fire a couple months ago and thought for sure I’d have to replace it.. but it’s still chugging along.. lol.. That is definitely an expense I do not need (as much as I’d love a new one!)

    Nice job putting everything together with limited resources; another validation that people need to stop making excuses.. you just do what you can with what you have!

    And those turkey burgers look delish!

    Like

  4. Jacqui

    Didn’t know you cook eggs in advance like that.

    And for the record 18 degrees is a positive heat wave here lol

    Jx

    Like

  5. I like the idea of reheating scrambled eggs. Hadn’t occurred to me, and I am sick of hard boiled. I leave the house at 430; go from my 5 am karate class; shower at the gym; and head to school so I am in my room by 700. I am always looking for ways to make breakfast more interesting. I miss eggs over-easy on one slice of whole grain toast. Do you include protein shakes in your daily diet?

    Like

    • I do use protein shakes, and log them, but in my head, they are supplements so I forget to talk about them when I talk about food online.

      Do you have a frig in your room? After a couple years of this, I got smart and bought a slightly larger frig and a second food scale. Speeds up my food prep on weekends by just loading up the frig with bigger containers instead of individual meals.

      Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

