My Recovery Week

Just as it’s important to let your body recover between workouts each week, it’s important to take a recovery week off from lifting periodically. Some say every 8-10 weeks. Some say twice a year is enough.  The last week I took off was the first week of September after my show.  It’s important, not just for the muscles to recover from heavy training, but also the central nervous system to settle down and repair itself.  Most people don’t think about the fact that nothing in the body moves until the nerves fire and make it move.  They get fatigued, too.

I went to the gym on Saturday and today just to stretch and foam roll. Did a little abs.

But you know what? I don’t think I want to do any more of anything this week. I think I might stay out of the gym entirely until Saturday. I can stretch and foam roll at home. I’m not burnt out. I just know that after this week, it’s full steam ahead for the show in June. So the rest is good for my muscles, my tendons, my ligaments, my central nervous system, my peripheral nervous system, and my emotional state.

Oh but today was tough at work.  HUNGRY!!!  I ate my planned meals and snacked too much on almonds and fruit.  I had hot flashes.  Was it was the too-efficient heater?  Was it menopause stuff? Was it the food digesting (which has been happening for about 6 months)?  Am I getting sick?   When I got home, I weighed myself again – just curious.  I lost a pound over the day.  OK.  It’s the metabolism.  Cool.  I ate my regular evening meal.  Added a little extra snack of 1/2 wheat tortilla, almond butter, and Nutella.  (Yes, I ate refined sugar. Nutella is anything but clean.  Oh well.)

Hubby and I are going to go to a Zumba class tomorrow night taught by a friend of ours at her new gym. New experience for both of us. I don’t expect that I’ll be able to keep up, so I doubt it will count as a cardio, but it might. I expect it to be fun and I’ll feel silly. Outside my comfort zone – again. But not quite as far as the “bikini-on-stage-jumbo screens-pay per view” thing I did last August. Hahahaha!  But after that – no exercise again until Saturday.  (I’m going to go nuts.)

20130107-200034.jpg

9 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Competing

9 responses to “My Recovery Week

  1. When I took a rest week my trainer couldn’t believe how ‘full” my muscles looked under a load and just posing (after the week off) He is going to experiment with rest these next few weeks. I’m curious to see how you feel and look when you get back next week. Enjoy your week!

    Like

  2. Hope your Zumba experience is the stuff dreams are made of 🙂
    And that this week brings you joy and rejuvenation.

    Like

    • Skipping Zumba. 😦

      I’ve been icing and stretching this thing all day, in between the times I have to walk around the classroom flaring it up again. Crap. I must have tweaked it yesterday doing abs. Smart or not, I’m going to really do NOTHING until Saturday.

      Like

  3. Colin DeWaay

    Life itself seems to get me recovery weeks. Things like vacation or this flu I’m getting over. Heck who knows maybe getting sick was my body telling me to back the heck off! Haha It’s been 5 days since I’ve worked out and even if I feel a lot better I think I’ll take a couple more days off anyway. Let’s do this recovery thing! 🙂

    Like

  4. Did you ever think you’d be saying you’d go crazy NOT working out for a week before you started? I’m just at the beginning of my journey and I just can’t imagine feeling that way…yet 🙂

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

