Mind is Blown

Six months before my first competition, I told friends that I was training to be in the center position at pre-judging. (That’s where the likely division winner is placed by judges when there are several competitors to compare.) There were only 2 women in my Class B and 1 in Class C, so they brought all three of us out together in numerical order.  There was no need to move anyone since I was already standing next to my only competition. She was #71, I was #72, and the Class C competitor was #73. So I was in the center. Exactly where I told the Universe I wanted to be. I was not the likely winner, but it took me three years to get to that stage and I was in good condition – that’s a big win for me.  Never took that for granted.  I left that stage with a trophy, and as soon as I drank some water, I was elated.  Completely hooked on the experience.  I love being a bodybuilder!  I love everything about it.  The training, the food, the contest prep – expect the water deplete – that sucks.

Tahoe Show 216

Siouxcountry.com is a message board site for female competitors in all divisions.  Huge presence in the sport from my novice perspective.  During competition season, I relied on Siouxcountry’s Facebook status updates to report the contest results.  Everything they do there is so respectful towards the competitors and because of that, I have a ton of respect for that site.  Being a part of that community was also something I wanted to have happen.

Today, I found out there is a thread on Siouxcountry.com about my transformation. I AM THREAD TOPIC ON SIOUXOUNTRY.COM???  I did not win my division in this local show.  And now there are pro’s commenting on what I’ve done on Siouxcountry.com?  (This is such a cool sport.)

What did I do? I was 47, fat, sick, and scared. Scared of an early death like my mother’s. I fixed it. I set a big, scary, goal so I would stay motivated when it would get inevitably hard.  There are thousands of people who lose weight and get their health back.  I don’t understand the attention I’m getting.  I hope it’s not just because I’m 50 and that’s considered “old”.  (50 is not old.)  But I’m grateful for the attention.  It’s an ego-boost, that’s for sure.

But mostly I’m grateful.  I believe with all my heart that God put me on this path for a reason and He must have been the source for the internal strength that seemed to come when I needed it.  There must be a reason this is happening.  It’s so overwhelming and life changing.

What’s next?  Who knows?  I really want to win my division in the next show I do.  And then an overall.  And then I want to be mentioned on Siouxcountry.com when I win that overall in a national qualifier.   And then?  Oh, I don’t know.  World’s oldest IFBB Womens Physique Pro?  A girl can dream, right?

19 Comments

Filed under Competing, Faith, Life, Motivation

19 responses to “Mind is Blown

  1. LuAnn

    You ask why you are getting attention? Because you made a remarkable life change that takes a tremendous amount of work & strength physically and mentally. And for me, your story caught my attention because it gives me hope. Changes are possible. Dreams can happen. I have been on the brink of wanting to take that dive and make some extreme changes to become healthy & fit. But it is always met with doubt & frustration. The more I see stories like yours, the more I believe I can do this. I’m done with the excuses, I’m ready to start moving. I am a single mom of 6 kids (ages 1-15), They are active, athletic, talented kids. I not only need to be healthy the next 18 years so I can be here to raise them, I want to be able to play sports & be active with them. And I want teach them healthy habits so they have the desire to be healthy in their adult lives. So while your accomplishments physically are amazing, your spirit & attitude is even more amazing. Thank you for sharing your story!

    Like

    • That makes me smile. Six kids? Can you imagine the impact you’re going to have if you do this? Amazing. That’s a blessing to me. Thank you for sharing that. If you get a little stuck and need a pep talk (or a butt kick), please let me know. What you are doing is SOOOO important.

      Like

  2. Jenny Rose

    You are getting the attention because you are one of the very few who said “That’s it, I will not live like this anymore” and then actually did something to change it! You are a REAL LIFE success story. Most of the women I know in their 40’s will tell you they cannot lose weight, nothing is working, or that they are doomed to be old and fat. You found what works and you did an amazing job transforming yourself into who you truely want to be. Even though you have reached the point of success, you come across as humble and thankful and I believe people admire and respect you for that. You do not seem so intimidating to those of us who are just average. Thank you for sharing so much of yourself with us! You are a beauty!

    Like

    • Wow. Thank you! There were plenty who doubted, but liked my enthusiasm. There were a few who didn’t believe I was physically capable to do it. They were jaded and cynical. Nothing good comes from that. I think my most constant support came from my peer group – people my age who knew we aren’t too old to do a damn thing.

      Like

  3. Congrats on your hard work!..olympia next stop???

    Like

    • LOL! Oh gosh. Wouldn’t that be something? I don’t know about that. Seems like all the planets will need to line up a few times. I’m driven regardless. Thanks for the smile on my face right now! 🙂

      Like

  4. Nancy C.

    It’s no mystery why you’re getting attention. You’ve done what thousands, if not millions, of women would like to do. Turn an overweight unhealthy body and mind into a one that can stand on a stage in front of a bunch of people with no fear or embarrassment.You’ve done what many many women think is literally impossible and not only that, are here to tell us why it is possible. That is the highest form of inspiration. You are living my dream which at age 58 I thought I had to give up. Now I think maybe, just maybe, it’s not so impossible after all. Thank you for that.

    Like

    • Giving up – know that feeling. I felt stuck and kept thinking “this is it? Just fast forward to old and dead!” I don’t feel like that anymore. Find that thing that makes you go to sleep at night excited to get up tomorrow.

      Like

  5. One Fit Mama

    Dream big or go home!!! Love it Tammy. I’ve told you before I find you inspirational. You’re age has nothing to do with it. You’re drive, dedication, and attitude do.

    Like

  6. Your a pretty remarkable woman. Your jouney in incredible and keeps me motivated at the gym.

    Like

    • Thank you! I think I’m more motivated now than I was a few weeks ago. I started this blog for accountability after I did the show, it felt like I reached the goal. A big “now what?” feeling came over me. Hearing that folks are looking to me for their inspiration is starting to push me again. We’re all in it together, I guess. Yay!

      Like

  7. Nancy Egger

    I have recently begun to use the elliptical at the gym. I am 61 with joint and ligament pain and weakness from lyme disease. I want to start using weights or the other machines but find I am struggling with pain for weeks after. I also have osteoporosis. I want to be victorious in this. Any help?

    Like

    • Normal pain from working out should subside in a few days. I have some parts that take a little longer, but with rest, the pain stops. The pain you are describing is different.

      If you are serious about being successful, my opinion is that you need in-person guidance. If you are working out at a corporate gym, check out their trainers. You want the most experienced person they have. If you aren’t comfortable with the ones at that gym, and they have other locations you can use, check there. I know that’s true in my town. If that doesn’t work, start asking around, or do some online research in your area for personal training studios or independent trainers who work out of the smaller gyms that don’t have their own training staff. These are small business owners, not corporations. They may be more flexible with financing and are almost always more experienced. Many start out in the corporate gyms to learn, but then leave to start their own business. Ask your doctor if there is anyway you’re training can be prescribed and covered under insurance. When I was heavy, my doctor sent me to a nutritionist because it was a necessary referral for my blood pressure.

      Also, I personally believe almost everything can be addressed with nutrition. Basic clean eating principals will provide the body with the nutrients it needs to repair itself from a workout. Research lyme disease, osteoporosis, exercise, and nutrition. If you cannot find anything, visit a local store like Vitamin Shoppe and ask who is the smartest person there to give you some ideas. Don’t necessarily buy anything, but makes note and then do your own research. If your doctor is “old school”, find another one to visit who is a general practitioner/holistic or Chinese medicine person. Not that you need those things, but it’s my experience that general practitioners who explore other kinds of treatment are really open-minded and knowledgeable. More resources for you.

      I’m sorry, but I’ve thrown all of it back in your lap. But in my opinion, I believe we are the experts on ourselves anyway. I tend to lack creativity so I don’t think of things to try. I hope I gave you something to think about.

      Please keep in touch and let me know how things go. The one thing I know is true – if you don’t quit and don’t give up, you will succeed. Your path may change and you might end up with a different kind of success than the one you are thinking about now, but it will be good.

      Like

  8. Jacqui

    Tammy as you know when I saw your transformation you immediately gave me renewed motivation. After a health scare 3 years ago I knew something must be done. In my 40s I had found it extremely difficult to lose weight but then was diagnosed with an under active thyroid but it still took that life threatening moment for me to change my life. When I got to goal weight I was the centre of attention media wise and wondered about the reactions of my kids aged 24, 21 & 20. I needn’t have, they were extremely supportive and proud as was their Dad. However I do now wonder how they are going to feel about this next stage. I always told my PT that I wanted to train to competition form but now I find myself itching to see what ‘competition’ there is out there! Thank you for that renewed vigour and goal to work to.

    Like

  9. That’s amazing dedication right there, congratulations and good luck for next time. This may inspire me to actually start competing. I keep hearing the rush is unparalleled, I can only imagine what the buzz has been like, let alone the online recognition. Congratulations

    Like

  10. Great work, and what exciting news for you! Congrats on your transformation and continued path to realizing your dreams!

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

