Narcissism v. Taking Care of Yourself – Lessons from a Flight Attendant?

I’ve struggled with this concept from Day 1. It’s now Day 1294 for me. And with all the attention I’ve been getting in the last week, I’m really working hard to keep my head in the right place. Thanks for this one, Dawn!

The EnLightened Journey

As a therapist, I cannot begin to tell you the frequency with which I use airplane pre-flight instructions to illustrate the need for self-care. I am sure that you remember the flight attendant saying something like…

“If you are flying with small children or others who may need assistance, please place your own oxygen mask on before assisting others.”

Somehow, people get the idea that to put themselves first, to practice good self-care, makes them selfish or narcissistic. Well, let’s look at the definitions of narcissism and selfishness from dictionary/reference.com:

Narcissism: inordinate fascination with oneself; excessive self-love; vanity.

If you eat the right foods, exercise regularly, get enough sleep, and engage in one or two hobbies, does that equate to an inordinate fascination with oneself? Probably not. How about selfishness?

Selfishness: devoted to or caring only for oneself; concerned primarily with one’s own interests, benefits, welfare, etc., regardless of others.

View original post 445 more words

6 Comments

Filed under My Lifting Log

6 responses to “Narcissism v. Taking Care of Yourself – Lessons from a Flight Attendant?

  1. This was a really helpful post for me. I’m going to get fit in 2013!

    Like

  2. Brenda Cochran

    Also, as a therapist I deal with the same distortion with my clients. As a new figure competitor I also had to work through the feelings of selfishness even though I am already pretty good at self care. I had to learn to look at myself in the mirror because I have lived a life of detaching from my feminiity and physical self. It “feels” narcissistic at times but I have had to learn to let that go AND have trustworthy friends to tell me if I am getting too full of myself – lol. Great post..

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

