My 15 Minutes…

I haven’t done much self-promotion other than post my pics on my own Facebook page and here on my blog.  Coach posted a few pictures on his page, too.  My friend Kim asked me to send it to Dr. Oz.  Did that.  Heard nothing.  There are people out there trying to make a career capitalizing on their weight loss.  I understand that.  I understand the passion to share what you’ve learned and want to help people.  I am a teacher – I get to help people everyday.

Yesterday morning, I did something kind of impulsive.  I sent my before/after picture to a site that I really respect – Siouxcountry.com.  I don’t have time to check out all the bodybuilding sites out there, but of the few sites I follow, Siouxcountry’s Facebook page does the best job promoting women’s bodybuilding in a respectful, responsible way.  They post transformation pics quite often, usually of competitors who have done several shows.  The actual site is really wonderful.  Message boards.  I read them, but I don’t comment.  I’m a little intimidated being such a novice in this sport.  I never felt comfortable sending my pictures to them because I’ve only done the one show and I didn’t win anything.  (Other than surviving a three year transformation process and getting on stage in a bikini when I can’t even walk around the house in my underwear.  So in my mind, I got a trophy for overcoming about a THOUSAND things that scare the shit out of me over the last three years.)

Anyhoo – the administrator, Jason, sent me a friend request and replied to my email right away.  He said he would post the picture later in the day.  About an hour later, he posted a status update with a warning about how fake transformation pictures would not be posted.  I kind of freaked out a little on the inside.  The timing was just too close to my email.  It bothered me all day.  I know – I’m supposed to be badass and all, but anyone who really knows me knows that I’m kind of a softy.   (I carry spiders outside to release them instead of squashing them.)  I decided to wait and see what would happen.  If the picture didn’t go up, I would know he thought it was a fake.  Wouldn’t change reality, but I guess I wouldn’t be surprised.  In the last year, I’ve had a few WTF moments with people in this fitness/bodybuilding world.

Then it posted.  And I think that post has changed my life just a little bit.  Just checked – in a little over 24 hours, it has been “liked” on Facebook 1089 times, “shared” 426 times.  I got an email from someone who said they saw it on someone’s page I don’t know.  I looked at it and it had 325 “likes” and about 30 “shares” from there.  I don’t know what the technical definition of “viral” is, but “Black Bikini Barbie Me” is flying around the planet tonight.  It’s just a little overwhelming.  I’ve made a lot of new friends.  I’ve chatted with a few today and it’s been wonderful.

I don’t know what’s going to happen when my 15 minutes is up.  After 17 years teaching, I know that I can never predict which students I will reach on a level deeper than the intended objective.  It’s a humbling thing to know that everything I say lands differently – good or bad – sometimes with more impact than intended.  I hope this picture will have a good impact for someone.  It’s a little dramatic to say I saved my own life, even though that’s probably what I did – but if that picture helps anyone realize that the process takes time, but it works – well… no words for how that makes me feel.

This is all kind of hard for me to grasp.   I’ve lived it.  I’ve documented it here.  The outcome seemed like a logical consequence to the choices I made and the actions I took.  Maybe the pictures make it seem more mysterious than that?  I wonder if people really realize that it is just one step at a time, every day, for … for the rest of your life?  Simple.  Not easy to do, but not complicated either.

Oh yeah…here’s the picture.  You’ve seen it before, blog buddies.  Just for fun, let me know if you see it in unexpected places, OK?

Tammy - before and after 8x10

30 Comments

Filed under Life, Motivation

30 responses to “My 15 Minutes…

  1. Cynthia

    You helped this 55 yr old believe it may not be too late! 🙂 I worked out today! Ate rosemary poached chicken instead of chick fil a…:)

    Like

  2. Nic

    Just saw your picture here:

    Like

  3. Ellen Frketic

    This is sooooo encouraging. I’ve been working out and lost a bunch of weight, but don’t have muscle definition like you. I’ll be 55 next month and really didn’t think it would be possible at my age. Even if I only achieve 1/2 of what you’ve done, I’ll be happy. Thank you for posting!!!

    Like

    • If you believe you can do it, you can. That’s not Peter Pan kind of thinking. Every body is different, but biology is biology. Time is the variable. Nutrition is important. Change your mind, the rest falls into place. Oh and YAY for you!!! Please keep me updated. I’d love to follow your progress.

      Like

  4. Amazing! I am a reader from Quebec who followed a FB link from a teacher colleague. Bravo to you!

    Like

  5. I saw your pics on SiouxCountry’s facebook page and although I “liked” it I didn’t share it but I plan on doing that shortly. LOVE LOVE LOVE success stories and yours is beyond inspirational. And I agree, screw not winning a trophy, you WON your life back and so much more. Congrats congrats congrats!!!

    Like

  6. Great post, you really did have a heck of a transformation. Continue to push and better yourself, your an inspiration. Don’t just post awesome pics, tell the other women out there who are having trouble with weight how to lose their weight. I will follow you please do the same if you see fit too.
    Thanks Isaac Hall

    Like

    • Thanks! I am following. Good suggestion. It’s going to take a little thought about how to write a post like that. My life now is what it is because of an accumulation of small changes over three years. Maybe that’s why I used to quit. I wasn’t patient and tried to do it all too soon.

      Like

  7. 🙂 I did my first figure comp the day before I turned 45. I started out at 213lbs. I’ve been toying with the idea of physique but kinda of felt, oh I dunno what really, maybe silly because I’m now 47. Which sounds silly now that I type it lol. You inspire me. 🙂

    I guarantee you that most women don’t believe these sorts of transformations are possible. EVER. I was one of them. And then one day I was online and happened across a picture of Angela Mraz. I’d lost my weight by then and was looking for inspiration to keep going to the gym.

    The first thought that went through my head was, “Pfft, she’s not all that hot, I’m almost there now!” LOL uhm, not quite but…..that was the first time in 40+ years that I looked a fit woman and didn’t hear the “You’ll never look like that” voice.

    So that was kind of an epiphany for me. I realized I didn’t look like that because I never thought I could. And that’s pretty much what happens for a lot of women I think.

    I’m so sick of hearing women say, “Well, I’m over 40 so I can’t……” I love sharing stories like yours with others. Maybe if they see enough REAL people, rather than stupid miracle pill diet ads, they may just start believing.

    Like

    • You are so right! It’s hard for women to practice self-care. So many other variables in our lives are impacted. Nothing for me changed until I changed my mind. I was scared. Really scared. That was enough for me to say “now I fix this” and to look at my hubby and tell him that it’s not something up for discussion.
      But honestly, I started thinking about the result, but now it’s the activity of it that I need. Thank you for your comment – and the great insight. I love discussions!

      Like

  8. Celeste

    Hi Tammy!! I saw your transformation photos on Sioux country AND I shared:) I am in the process of my own transformation-I turn 40 in 2 weeks, and it’s “now or never”! Anyways, you, and many women like you, give me the courage to take the next step. I’m happy and proud to say I’ll be competing in my very first show in April, stretch marks and wrinkles be damned! LOL Thank you for sharing your story;)
    Celeste

    Like

  9. Michelle

    https://www.facebook.com/Onefitbrit i found you here…you are definitely an inspiration!

    Like

  10. Colin DeWaay

    So awesome!!! Congrats, very well deserved!

    Like

  11. Love it. So Inspiring. I am also a teacher, too. I totally connected with you. Thank you for being simply Amazing on the inside and outside!

    Like

  12. One Fit Mama

    I think you deserve a lifetime of fame for what you accomplished. I tell people about you all the time… colin shared it on fb … sooo cool!

    Like

  13. Jona

    A Facebook friend shared your totally awesome transformation photo, and I subscribed to your page and blog for future inspiration. 🙂 Many congrats for your accomplishments!

    Like

  14. Jacqui

    I understand completely how you felt about the fake transformation comment. When people see my before and after photos usually the first thing they say is, “I can’t believe that’s you!” Even my husband said the first time he saw them together that he couldn’t remember me being like that!

    Like

    • Congrats! Pretty awesome feeling to take control of your health, huh? I don’t think I really grasped what I had done until I saw those show pictures. Even before I saw them, people were telling me how I looked on stage. I assumed they were being nice because they were my friends. 🙂

      Like

  15. I made enquiries about a personal trainer in weights to strengthen my body and lose the weight that has been hanging about for too long now…Not a young chick by any means, but am going to give it a try. Thank you for the inspiring photos….congratulations. xx

    Like

  16. Very inspiring. We’d all love to hear what those little changes were to get you here today. You look fabulous!

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

