Where was I a year ago?

Just for fun, I looked up the blog post I made a year ago today, December 27, 2011.  Interesting.  I was coming out of a very difficult period.  From August 2011 until December 2011 everything in my program was in disarray.  I was dumped by my trainer who I trusted, turned down for coaching by another local trainer – just confused and lost.  I suspected these people looked at me and saw a mid-life crisis who ran out of money for personal training.  I was no longer a revenue source.

Turns out that as soon as I was in a new place, I was surrounded by people who wanted nothing from me.  They just wanted to help.  I was welcomed and tutored.  I reconnected with an experienced trainer who over the next few months became my friend and current coach.

Things turned out pretty good, huh?  I hit my target dead on.  It was really important to me that I competed on August 25, 2011.  I would not let the drama postpone my dream.  I did not have to compromise anything.

Just in case you feel a little lost sometimes, check this old blog post.  It was good for me to reread it.  You’ll read it knowing how the story ends.   Well, not exactly the end.  There are bigger, scarier goals in front of me.

Where’s my ambition? I know I put down here somewhere.

 

8 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Competing, Life, Motivation, Old Posts

8 responses to “Where was I a year ago?

  1. You are such an inspiration! Thank you so much for showing us that if you truly want to acheive a goal, you will find a way no matter what obstacles you face.

    Like

  2. Jane

    What an inspiration you are! I’m 50 myself and have been working out since I was 32, but in the last 6 months or so completely stopped and put on about 10 pounds and it feels terrible! Your page has inspired me and I made a vow to not have alcohol all of January, get back to the gym, and on a clean diet to look and feel better. Thanks so much for what you do:-)
    Jane

    Like

    • Thank you! Go get it!! I have a question for you though – this isn’t about deprivation. If something is worth quitting for a month to make you healthier, why start doing it again? It’s either something that helps, hurts, or is neutral. If you want it, work it into your calories and plan for it.

      Like

  3. Colin DeWaay

    Pretty nice to be able to look back and see how well things have gone isn’t it? How many people if they were to look back what be filled with regrets? Way too many! Awesome for you!

    Like

  4. I think things happen for a reason; and look how awesome you are doing now and how far you have come!! 🙂

    Keep being an inspiration!!

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

