One Month Left of “Off Season”

Coach and I are not on the same page about when I will start my cut for the June show. I wanted to start January 1.  He thinks I don’t need to start until February, so I’m compromising.    So I’m going to start on January 21st.  That is five months out.  I don’t really know how much I have to lose.  Don’t know how much muscle I’ve built.  I don’t even know how much I weigh.  I stopped weighing myself when I stopped logging food.  I’ve been just lifting and trusting the program is doing what it’s supposed to be doing.  We do measurements next week, so I suppose a plan will be finalized then.  It’s been a nice break – not logging food and not weighing myself.

Lifting wise, after a month of lifting lighter to allow the pulled hip flexor to heal, I got the go-ahead to lift heavy again this week.  And boom…PR’s on overhead press and bench press.  I’m not concerned so much anymore with how much weight I lift.  The PR’s represent healing and growth.   The hip is not 100%, so I still need to be careful with it.

I’ll take the week of Jan 14th off as a rest week. Most lifters at my gym take the week between Christmas and New Years off. I thought about that, but decided it made more sense for me to take the week of final exams off. (I give the tests, not take them.) Crazy busy time for this teacher.

I’m looking forward to these next three weeks of lifting.  There will be a calorie surplus each day and lots of sleep during vacation.

1 Comment

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal

One response to “One Month Left of “Off Season”

  1. Awesome job on the PRs!! Glad your body is feeling better and those big lifts are coming!
    Looking forward to your contest prep updates!!

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

