Very Sad Day

The news about the Connecticut shooting is still coming in.  I’m sitting in my classroom right now watching my calculus students as they take a quiz.  If they know about what happened, they seem to be focused on the task at hand or are acting as goofy as normal (as one just lobs a paper wad across the room into the trash and turns to me and smiles because it went in).

Me?  I’m completely distracted.

What just popped up on my phone from a news alert… “20 kids, 6 adults dead”.

I cannot speak for other teachers, but the 20 kids dead part rocks me to my core.  I start to imagine what the other teachers in that school must feel like today.  I’m certain they are grateful if they were able to protect their kids.  I’m also certain some are questioning what they could have done differently to save the 20.

20 kids dead?  And I think I heard a lot of them are in kindergarten.

I don’t know know how many lock downs I’ve been part of.  Not too many to count, I just haven’t counted them.  A couple are memorable for how immediate the situation seemed to us at the time.  Never was anyone hurt, but we didn’t know what was going on.  During one, one of my kids asked “Would you take a bullet for us?”  Without hesitation I replied “Yes”.

So I’m just processing and trying not to cry in front of my teenagers.  They are stressed about today’s quiz and the multitude of projects and tests they have coming up next week.  Then we are off for two weeks.  A break we all need.

3 Comments

Filed under Teaching

3 responses to “Very Sad Day

  1. Que

    This is so truly heartbreaking. I’m angry, I worry about the safety involving my children. There’s been a close call or two involving my son and weapons at school and on the bus. I fight to keep from letting hate fill my heart. It’s hard when everyday there are various reports of children being victims of such horrific crimes. I’m hurting for all those who love those children who died, I hurt as a parent who takes the safety of children seriously. Faith is all I have so I just offer prayers to everyone.

    Like

  2. I don’t know how you held it together. Well, maybe I do as I’ve shielded my kids from the news today, ended our homeschooling early, and spent precious time with them. I couldn’t stop my heart from hurting all day, but I could hide the reason behind it from kids.

    Like

  3. One Fit Mama

    tragic! heart wrenching and wrong!

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

