Quick (?) Training Update

I’ve been working on this post, on and off, for 18 hours… that’s just how busy I am.  And I should be grading papers right now.  Ugh.

So… the muscle pull is healing. I’ve been off my 5 x 5 program now for…um…3 weeks? (I pulled it on the Monday before Thanksgiving.) I stayed away from squats for a few days and then started the squat rehab suggested by grmble. I did the rehab for two weeks. Coach told me to lay off squats this week so it could heal up. I’m still not back on the 5 x 5 yet. I’m doing body part days like I used to do.  Supposed to have been doing light “muscle activation” work.  Uh huh.  Yeah.  Light.  I don’t do that very well.

Coach wanted me to do four, 45 minute step mill sessions this week. Pumping blood into the pulled muscle.  So far, so good on that.  The last cardio will be tomorrow.

I’m really sore.  Mostly back, glutes, and hamstrings.   Not getting enough sleep, so I’m not recovering. My massage was last night.  She found all the knots caused by the muscle pull as it’s healing.  I think it’s just tightening up all the time and now pulling on all it’s little friends.

I’m going to rest over the weekend. I have a ton of grading to do anyway.

Woke up this morning feeling overwhelmed.  Not only am I starting to back off my original plan of two shows next summer, I’m starting to wonder if I can manage to do one.  I think I’m just getting impatient with the healing process and I’m hurting.  And I’ve been very easily annoyed.  I really, really, really need my rest days.

6 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, My Lifting Log

6 responses to “Quick (?) Training Update

  1. Hope you’re back to normal soon! I know how frustrating it can be when your mind wants to do more, but your body isn’t cooperating! 😉

    Like

  2. Hang in there! I bet a few months from now this will all be a distant memory.

    Like

  3. One Fit Mama

    Hope you feel better soon. I get you on going light….hate this healing crap

    Like

  4. Stay positive. You are doing beautifully, even if it doesn’t feel that way at just this moment. You’ve got this.

    Like

  5. I’ve been over-tired for a few weeks now, even before the pulled muscle. I think that was just a logical consequence of something else. Looking at everything to look for something to adjust that could improve things. First – there needs to be some rest.

    Like

  6. Colin DeWaay

    I bet with the rest and then once you get back into the grove of things you’ll get fired back up for it. Keep your chin up!

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

