The Week Ahead…Thinking Out Loud

Just thinking out loud here.  Indulge me, please.

Still doing rehab for my pulled TFL.  Two days into it and it’s responding well.  I’ve got to plan out the week a little because I want to take the week off the 5 x 5 since  I’m not supposed to be lifting heavy.  Basically, the whole week is ‘assistance work’ for the 5 x 5.  All light, high reps.  Just keeping the muscles activated because all my healing super powers need to be focused on that muscle pull.

Monday: Legs

Box Squats – 3 sets of 25 reps.  I’ll add a little bit of weight to the bar for the first two sets.  A tiny bit.

Leg Curls, Calf Raises – can’t do a whole lot without hitting the TFL more than I should.

Massage Monday afternoon – and it’s gonna hurt.

Tuesday: Squat Rehab, Chest, Triceps, Abs – Chest work will be incline with dumbbells.  I want to do exercises NOT part of my 5 x 5.

Wednesday: Off – easy cardio, rolling, and stretching.

Thursday: Squat Rehab, Back, Biceps

Friday: Squat Rehab, Shoulders, Abs

Saturday: Squat Rehab and (hopefully) step mill.  At some point, I’ve got to throw in some functional work for the right leg, too.  You know, standing around on unstable surfaces, step ups, single leg RDLs – don’t know when though.  I’ll run it by Coach and see what he says.

Sunday: Totally off.  No gym at all.

Nutrition

After chatting with Coach about the carb-loading experiment, he said “More protein.”  I like protein, but I replied with a “Really?”  I reminded him that more protein would mean I’d be eating as much protein as a 180 pound male bodybuilder.  He gave me a look that implied “What’s your point?”  So I guess I’m going to go back to the macros I used last August, but I’ll eat more calories because I’m not cutting right now.  This week, I think I’ll be super careful try to stay just above maintenance.  I won’t be hungry – we’re still talking about 2200-2400 calories a day.

OK – so those are my thoughts.  I’ll comment as the week unfolds.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

