Carb Back Loading is Not for Me

I’ve done it for almost three weeks. I’ve gained 3 pounds.  Not a big deal, but the point was to change my body composition a little bit.  I don’t appear leaner.  I’ve had mood and energy swings that are exhausting.  My face is breaking out, which only happens when I’m stressed.  The body is stressed.  But I’m all about data, so I use my bodybugg data to calculate my average daily calorie burn for these three weeks.  Compared that to average daily calorie burn in September and again in October.

I speak math.  I understand math.

My average daily burn has dropped 100 calories a day since I started carb back loading.  I did adjust with intake, so my average calorie surplus was only 175 calories, which is about the 200 calories over I’ve done every day since the beginning of September.  That’s just barely over maintenance and what is necessary for muscle growth.  But I’ve gained weight as if I had surplus of 500 calories a day.  Water?  Sure.  But I suspect my metabolism has slowed down.  Or I have just slowed down from the lack of energy I’ve been feeling.

I don’t look better, I don’t feel better – so why bother?  Maybe I wasn’t eating “trashy” enough.  But I don’t want to.  “Healthy” is more important to me than being “ripped”, so I’m not going to eat pastries or other highly dense foods.  I tried to do it with high-glycemic whole foods.  I did use ice cream some days, but I think the mood swings, energy swings, and skin issues are related to the unclean foods I’ve included.

I’m going to get my calories in for today and then I’m going back to my “normal” tomorrow.

Oh well.  No harm in trying, huh?  I’m sure it works for some people, but not for all.  And not for me.  Or at least, not for me right now.

9 Comments

Filed under Nutrition

9 responses to “Carb Back Loading is Not for Me

  1. uberbeastmode

    Good for you for listening to your body! You gave it a shot and it didn’t work. Different things work for different people. You gave it a fair chance, not much more you can do!

    Like

  2. …and with all that, I worry that it might be spiking your cortisol a little.

    Like

  3. I think you are doing what is exactly right for you. I remember one of the things the impressed me most about your blog was reading that you confidently took the stage based on what you could see in the mirror and that you didn’t know at that time what your BF% was. You know your body. You know what’s right. We been doing this almost simultaniously and I too have had horrible breakouts on my neck and face. We’ve learned alot these past few weeks. Hang in there!

    Like

    • The simultaneous break outs is very interesting. When my friend above ^ reminded me about cortisol, I remembered all that research I did last year. I believe, for me, low carb triggers it.

      It wasn’t my confidence about the BF thing – I borrowed it. I’ve been told over and over and over by several people I that it was better to let that number go and focus on the mirror. Once the non-refundable registration for the show was paid, it was full steam ahead! That first prep is pretty freaky. Everyone said it will work, but I wouldn’t see it until the morning of the show if it’s done properly.

      Like

      • You did beautifully in your show, a great example! I eat low carb most of the time. In fact I generally carb load only once a week until I tried the CBL and my face is still ridiculously broken out.

        Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

