I Hate Box Squats

Asked coach to take a look at my back squat form.  For the 5 x 5 program I’m doing, the weights are increasing and I wanted to make sure my form was good before I went much farther.

Here is the first video he made.  As I thought – not going down low enough.

 

Coach is an awesome strength/power lifting coach.  When he makes a suggestion, I take it.  But I didn’t the first time he told me to do box squats month ago.  I hate box squats.  I did things my way and didn’t fix the form.  So now, I’m sort of stuck.  I have to do what he says.  Not only am I doing box squats, I’m also supposed to hold the bar a little lower on my shoulders.  When I did that this first time, it hurt and felt awkward.  The weight here is light for me, but the movement was clumsy and weird.  Did I mention that I hate box squats?    Hope you enjoy the ‘coaching’ I get as well.

 

Hahahaha!  See that little glare I flashed him at the end?  That’s because I hate box squats.

Did them again today.  It went better.  You’re not supposed to be able to move as much weight with a box squat as with a free squat.  My free squat has been 155 pounds for the last couple weeks.  Today, I couldn’t do 135 pounds more than twice with the stupid box.  It’s all good.  Sure, I’ll be three weeks behind in my Madcow.  I’ll catch up.

I used to hate front squats.  When Coach substituted front squats for leg presses during my contest prep last August, I grumbled, but did them.  They did exactly what they were supposed to do – grow the quad sweep.  I’m sure I’ll learn to like box squats once they start working their magic.

5 Comments

Filed under 5 x 5, Bodybuilding Journal, Legs, My Lifting Log, Videos

5 responses to “I Hate Box Squats

  1. Thank you for sharing the videos – not only is it interesting to read the feedback you’ve got, but it’s nice to be able to see what you’re doing too. I like your attitude re being behind on Madcow – you’ll get there. It’s not a race, afterall 🙂

    Like

  2. Nice videos. Thanks for sharing this. I wish we all could have personal videographers for general form checkups. I hate box squats so much that I’ve never even tried them! You lift way heavier than I’ve ever been able to. Keep up the good work! I really like squats, but I need to progress!

    Like

  3. One Fit Mama

    I’ve always thought that it would cause a good laugh to drag the tripod to the gym, however I’m just never brought myself to do it – probably goes along with working out in a thong.
    Either way, read this yesterday and realized I’d never done box squats – and in the spirit I did them today – Hello Tough! I put the bench behind me to make sure I was going low enough and managed 2 sets of 12 at 70… much lower then my regular squat.
    Thanks again !

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

