Competition

Election night.  Competition is on my mind.  People talk casually about winners and losers, when we are actually all on the same team.  We can debate and disagree, but tomorrow, we’re all in the same boat.  We all buy gas, groceries, pay bills, and we do what we need to do to take care of the people we love.  I’ve had friends say things that hurt my feelings, so I have to assume I’ve done the same.

Had an interesting conversation with a friend about female lifters and competition.  It seems that most of us in my little online circle and certainly in my real life circle of female lifters (I use the word “us” hoping what I’m about to say applies to me), we encourage each other because we have this lifting thing common. And it’s hard to do if you decide to change your whole life to support it.  However, there are a few women who aren’t able to connect in that way.  There is a lot of bragging, a digs at others, and on the surface, it comes across as arrogant and/or ignorant.  I wondered if anyone had written more about this, because honestly, I don’t think I can articulate my thoughts fully on this subject.  I’m also reflecting to find out if I’m guilty of the same thing, so I didn’t want to come across as some kind of expert in this post.  Found this article…

http://psychcentral.com/lib/2011/competition-among-women-myth-and-reality/

After reading that, I’ve decided to consider some of what I hear and read as just a bad attempt at healthy competitiveness.  And I’ll ignore it.

So from now on, I will be more careful about what I say and how I say it, too.  I want to document my journey, but I hope to do it in such a way that doesn’t sound like I’m trying to bring anyone else down, when I’m just super proud of something I’ve accomplished.

8 Comments

Filed under Competing, Life, Opinions, Venting, Ranting

8 responses to “Competition

  1. One Fit Mama

    I think you are inspiring and I’ve never read anything from you I thought was anything but positive

    Like

  2. Lisa

    You articulated your thoughts very well – I too have to constantly remind myself to be non-braggy when I’m excited about something I’ve accomplished, or something one of my girls or my husband has accomplished. The delivery of it is so important, how do you express joy at your achievement without crossing the line and appearing boastful?

    Plus the other side of the coin is being genuinely happy when someone is telling you about their own experiences. I hate when that ugly seed of jealousy gets in my head!

    Thank you for such a thought-provoking post. And I apologize if I commented twice, the first one seemed to disappear into cyberspace!

    Like

    • Thanks! I can relate to what you said about the “other side of the coin”. It seems though, that since I got on stage – a major goal – i don’t have as hard a time with that as I used to. So when I feel that, I bet it’s my own fear and insecurities at play. (Stupid head voices). 🙂

      Like

  3. Personally you’ve always been helpful to me… Even if it was just telling me stuff I already knew but didn’t want to believe 🙂

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

