Inspiration?

in·spi·ra·tion

noun /ˌinspəˈrāSHən/
inspirations, plural

  1. The process of being mentally stimulated to do or feel something, esp. to do something creative
    • – Helen had one of her flashes of inspiration
    • – the history of fashion has provided designers with invaluable inspiration
  2. The quality of having been so stimulated, esp. when evident in something
    • – a rare moment of inspiration in an otherwise dull display
  3. A person or thing that stimulates in this way
    • – he is an inspiration to everyone

Here’s the deal.  Don’t tell me I “inspire you” and then…

1) do nothing

2) look only at my “before” and “after” pictures and then make a list of all the reasons you can’t do it without finding out what I did

3) don’t ask questions

4) argue with me about why you need sugar or alcohol or processed foods  (I know.  It’s a “quality of life” issue.  Damn straight it is.  I’m pretty sure a smoker says the same thing about cigarettes. Quality of life improves when you’re not consuming these things. )

5) don’t take ownership over your own health

6) keep doing the exact same thing, getting the exact same results, and refuse to accept the fact that maybe things need to change

7) assume I have no idea what it must be like to be too busy, too tired, or too stressed

8) do stupid long hours of cardio instead of any kind of resistance training

9) do no research on your own expecting someone else will have all the answers for you

10) DO NOTHING

I’m a little annoyed by people who are so obsessed with being a certain weight or a certain size with no thought about health, body composition, etc.  “Skinny fat” is ok because it’s “skinny”?  They get completely fixated on my “after” pictures.  They think they know how that happened, but they don’t.  Some try to replicate it by doing things that don’t work because that’s what is familiar   They don’t want to step outside their comfort zones, I guess.

I’m a little frustrated with people who feel the need to give me a list of all the reasons why they can’t get healthier when we meet for the first time after they have seen my pictures online.  It always starts with a “You have inspired me…”  To do what?  Nothing?  Do they notice that I’m just looking at them smiling, but I’m not nodding, I’m not saying anything.  I’m just smiling and thinking “do you really believe the BS you are saying right now?”  And why do you think that’s what interests me about you?  I’m meeting you for the first time, so I’m sure there are lots of interesting things about you.  You are more than a list of reasons why you can’t workout.  (Oh – and just so you know why I know what you are saying is BS – the way you feel and look has a heck of a lot more to do with what you eat, not how much you exercise.  Seriously.  You eat sometimes?  Make time for that, right?  So I reject your list as excuses anyway.)

I know people like me make some people uncomfortable.  Can’t  worry about that.   I did what I did because I had to.  Reality sucks sometimes.  It was a lot of work before it became a lot of fun.  I wanted to live longer than I was going to if I didn’t change.  Period.  I love my husband and want to be on this planet longer.  The bodybuilding?  That came later.  That’s the fun part.

IDK.  Maybe I am just a freak. I could just shout…

I LOST WEIGHT….

I BUILD MUSCLES …

 AND I’M GOOD AT MATH.  

and make everyone very uncomfortable.

So to be very clear – I do understand why this happens.  It’s a psychological game of tug-of-war that goes on before a person makes the decision to change.  Change is scary.  I had to do the same thing.  You need to keep saying these things out loud until you hear how ridiculous it sounds when you say you’re too busy to be healthy.  I like this cartoon, but it’s not really accurate.  It’s not about the hour you spend exercising – even though that’s a necessary component for health.  It’s what you eat the rest of the day that makes the bigger difference.

So I will keep smiling and listening.  But you know I’m not agreeing with you, right?  At least I won’t be until you really hear what you are saying and change your perspective.

6 Comments

Filed under Life, Motivation, Nutrition, Weight Loss

6 responses to “Inspiration?

  1. Well said. I was at that point for awhile. I wanted to lose weight but didn’t want to permanently change my eating habits. I worked out 5 days a week and thought that should allow me to eat unhealthy and be thin. I don’t enjoy eating healthy. It’s a huge challenge for me not to cheat but I’ve done it for 14 weeks now. I couldn’t have done it without my husband. I’m 34 and not getting any younger and I do want to be healthy and extend our life together. But I had to be ready to make this change and unfortunately I wasn’t for a long time. I feel better and look better but I still have moments when I wonder if I can keep this up for the rest of my life. Excuses aren’t needed…these people should simply say you’re an inspiration but they aren’t ready to take the plunge yet. Change is difficult but sometimes necessary.

    Like

    • It’s wonderful what you are doing. I used to think feeling better was kind of selfish, but when I look at my hubby, who hasn’t made this change with me, I realize that I want him to be healthy and to feel good. If that’s true, it must go the other way. He has to be happier that he doesn’t have to worry about me.

      Almost three years eating clean for me. A very good friend turned me onto Tosca Reno’s Clean Eating cook books. Haven’t looked back since. I have cheat meals, but I usually feel kind of crappy afterwards. They are more for psychological stability now. 😉

      Like

  2. Love, love, love this post!!

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

