Sept 24, 2012: half of back workout done…and then…OUCH!!

Tough Monday to wake up and get to the gym.  I got to bed a little later than I should have.  Took an Advil PM, and didn’t sleep long enough.  Stupid, stubborn, stupid.

I wanted to do pullups this morning using these grip variations…

9/24/12 Pullups – Band Assisted
34 reps/ 3 grip giant set
29 reps
25 reps
25 reps

9/24/12 Pulldowns
75 x 10 Close grip. Super set with rope climb

* And then I did something really stupid. (I’ll explain later…)

90 x 10
105 x 10
120 x 10

Rope Climb Machine

20 reps x 4 sets

HIIT cardio on StairMonster – 20 minutes

* Without my glasses, my vision is impaired in the gym. So after the first set of pulldowns, I got up and headed straight to the rope climb machine. Didn’t see this bar hanging in my path until I rammed my forehead into it.

20120924-194135.jpg

It bled a little.  I put a bandage on it and finished the workout.  It hurts.  Very tender.  I tried to ice it, but couldn’t hold the ice on there for long enough.  My neck took a little jolt, too.  By the end of the day, the pain and stiffness combined with the sleep deprivation to convince me to skip the other half of my back workout.  No rows done today. <Insert pouty face.>  I’ll find another time to get them done this week, I guess.

So as soon as I’m done typing this, I’m heading to bed with ice packs.

6 Comments

Filed under Back, My Lifting Log, Videos

6 responses to “Sept 24, 2012: half of back workout done…and then…OUCH!!

  1. dnoelle

    That looks painful. Ice and rest.

    Like

  2. Ouch! Looks like ya had a clumsy day. Good thing you didn’t attempt rows or you might have ended up on your butt pinned under the bar 🙂
    Just kidding. Hope ya feel better quick! Get your sleep & eat on.

    Like

    • Still clumsy today. Didn’t hurt myself, though. I was a little worried about doing heavy rows yesterday – more for the neck whiplash effect than the bump. Those pullups were awesome, so I decided to settle for that for the day.

      Like

  3. I hope you are feeling better after these couple of days. We beat ourselves up enough on purpose and accidents add insult to injury. 🙂

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

