Analysis

Still waiting for the score sheets to be posted online.  (It was supposed to take a week.  It’s been 4 weeks now.)  I’m not sure they will tell me much anyway, so I’m looking at the pics.  Looking at them like game tapes, I suppose.  Just curious to see what I can see.

Here I am next to the woman who placed ahead of me.  Her front relaxed pose is so much nicer than mine.

Here she is next to the woman who won the overall for the division.  They are all tired at this point…

Here is my prejudging pic next to the overall winner at the night show (her prejudging pics aren’t online)…

 

My legs are not equally developed.  Need to bring up the weak leg and learn to pose better.  Arms need more work.  I think the conditioning looks pretty close, but I may not know what I’m looking at, either.  I’m kind of pleased, actually.  That woman is tiny.  About 5 or 6 inches shorter than me.  (I know this because we were in side-by-side tanning tents the night before. And in the morning, I was in side-by-side tanning tents with the first woman…weird.)  So the woman with more muscle beat me (as it should be), but the smallest woman on the stage won the overall.  That’s why I want to see the score sheets.

So there I am, at least 10 years older than all these women who’ve competed before, with less than 2 years of training, in my first show, with a coach off stage who was annoyed that I swallowed too many ice cubes the day before.  He’s probably right.  Usually is.   Oh well.  It’s a solid start to my bodybuilding career, I think.

PS – Never planning to do this show again.  Still have my little phone number up on a bulletin board at home as a reminder that this is a political, subjective game I’m playing.  But I decide who I play with and who gets my money.  

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Competing

7 responses to “Analysis

  1. I think you win just for competing! I wouldn’t have the guts. Good for you! I’d give suggestions, but I have no idea what I am talking about.

    Like

  2. I love that you are willing to be objective enough to put your photos beside the other competitors and that you are willingly seeking to improve in areas that you now literally see as weaknesses. That is HUGE personal progress. Remember though, that this is really you vs. you. Thanks for continuing to inspire my journey!

    Like

  3. Do I dare offer comments, being as new as I am to all this, and nowhere near competing yet?

    Oh well, why not?

    I reckon you nailed it regarding the poses being better with the chick that came ahead of you – she’s probably just more experienced.

    I also think her shoulders look more developed as the main difference that’s noticeable between the two of you. At the (singular) bodybuilding show I’ve attended, the person with the best shoulders won again, and again, and again. Nail the shoulders, and you’ll be looking good to kick her butt!

    Like

    • Agreed on the shoulders. They are lagging because of the injury rehab I did for about half my training time. Since I posted this blog, the pics from the show were posted. She did some of the wrong poses during prejudging. She did bodybuilding poses, not physique poses. No idea how that was judged. The score sheets were supposed to be posted a month ago – still waiting.

      Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

