The Smith Machine

I found this video on YouTube.  Nice intro.

There are two Smith Machines at my gym and they are used all the time by everyone from the recreational lifter to the bodybuilders to the power lifters for their supplemental work.  I see a lot of big guys doing their seated shoulder presses on a Smith.  I like it for weighted hip bridges.  I’ve done reverse calf raises on it, too.

The most common lifts I’ve seen done on a Smith are…

  • bench presses (flat, incline, and decline)
  • squats, split squats, and lunges
  • seated shoulder presses (to the front and to the back of the head)

Do you use the Smith?  What do you use it for?

Leave a comment

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Videos, Workouts

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

