Quick Update

I got exactly what I told the Universe I wanted…

1) First call out, center position (if you stop reading here, you will have the wrong idea)*

2) A trophy**

Now the details.

* There were only three of us on stage and we were lined up in numerical order.  My number put me in the middle.  The judges did not move me to the middle.

** There were two of us in Women’s Physique, Class B and one woman in Class C.  The judges only had two of us to pick from and I got second.

There is so much to write about, but I’m exhausted.  But instead of waiting until I had energy and time, I wanted to make a short post to let you know how it turned out.

But know this – I’m thrilled.  The woman next to me (her name is Julie) had more experience and more muscle.  I believe the judges got it right, but it’s not the whole story.  After I drank water, ate a nice meal with hubby, visited the American Iron party up in the suite of our hotel, I laid in bed until 3 am checking dozens of emails and Facebook posts that accumulated over the day wishing me luck and offering encouragement.  At some point I realized that the best way to describe it is this…

It took me three years to get to that stage.  My competition was not standing next to me.  My competition was with myself.  First the transformation, and then the contest prep.  

I don’t have a ton of time to write a lot before I fall asleep on the couch, but it’s important I express my gratitude.

First – Thank you, Hubby, for learning how to live with me these last three years.  You watched your wife change into another person.  Not easy and probably a little scary sometimes.  Thank you for your love and support.  Thank you for taking that step outside the comfort zone with me yesterday, too.  He drove me to the show and then spent the whole time on his feet, donating his time to take hundreds of pictures.  (If the show’s promoter  doesn’t realize exactly what you did, I do.)   Here is a nice one of me after I got my 2nd place trophy.

I’m grateful for my friends who made the long drive to support me – amazing!  You guys rock!  Especially Dawn – who hung around for the whole day until I was completely done.  I know she’s busy and giving up a whole day was very generous.  Dawn wrote a beautiful blog about the day.  I’m going to reblog it so you can read it.

Finally, so very grateful to Coach who helped me finish the last two months of this prep.  D was amazing.  He promised to help me through it, and he went over and above behind the scenes yesterday.  The only time he wasn’t next to me, looking out for me, was when I was tanning, or when he ordered me back to the room for naps. He monitored everything I ate, every freakin’ ice cube I wasn’t supposed to suck on, and as I waited for HOURS to get on stage for the night show, he stood for that whole time without complaining about how sick he felt from something he ate that day.  Other coaches were around, but very few stayed with their people that way.   It was important to me to work hard and not embarrass you.  I made a lot of mistakes, but I never took anything for granted.

Thank you, Coach.  Thank you.

14 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal

14 responses to “Quick Update

  1. Que

    Congratulations!!!! You look absolutely amazing. You are so right our biggest competition is ourselves and you conquered the enemy. congrats to you and your team. Truly the smile across your face says it all. Enjoy the win, you’ve earned it.

    Like

    • I had so much fun on stage! Scary and exciting. But I promised myself that I would “do me” and I’m kind of proud of the fact that I know the first names of the beautiful women who were in my division. I made at least one new friend – someone who I hope to compete with again sometime. Class A was pretty serious and I couldn’t really get to know them, but Class B and Class C – well, we had a few silly moments.

      Like

      • Que

        The fun an excitement I see the fear you hid well. You look so poised, never would have thought you were nervous. Glad you were able to enjoy your accomplishment. Again, Congrats to all. You remind me I have to keep moving forward towards my goal, TY:)

        Like

  2. Congrats! And thanks for the update – I’ve been checking your blog all day!
    I look forward to hearing more!

    Like

    • Thank you! Hubby says I’m a little “obsessed” with food today. Hahahaha! There is a reason people are supposed to have cheat meals. I fully expect to regret it, but I’m heading back in – nachos are next on the list. 🙂

      Like

  3. You make me so happy. I almost cried for no other reason than you did so much to get to that stage and you are my inspiration

    Like

  4. WOW. That’s all I can say!! I hope you don’t mind, but I refer to your blog a lot when I talk to people about health/fitness outside of the blogging world.. it’s just so inspiring!!

    Like

  5. Congratulations! You must be thrilled…I sure would be.

    Like

  6. I am so stinking proud of you! You look amazing and I’m so glad you followed through with this! Can’t wait to see more pics! Did you eat all your triangles yet?

    Like

    • I ate all day today. I’m stuffed. Had 1/2 a BIG piece of cheesecake after the show. Ate the rest this morning while in the jacuzzi that was in our room. Yes ma’am, I started my day with simultaneous cheesecake and jacuzzi. 🙂

      Like

  7. I am so happy that everything worked out well – you have worked so hard for this and deserved a fantastic experience. The photos were awesome, and you looked terrific – every bit the bodybuilder! 🙂

    All I can say – apart from well done! – is I am soooo looking forward to seeing what you do next. Life is a journey, all you have to do is believe.

    Congratulations! And trophy! Woah! 🙂

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

