$350 for Make Up? I Don’t Think So.

Did a little research.  Competitors have told me that MAC makes the best stage makeup for competitions and the photographs taken at the competitions.   There is a make up artist available the morning of the show who would do my face for $100.  If I went with that plan, I’d have nice makeup until I washed my face.  If I decide to do another show, I’d have to find and pay another makeup artist.  Not really my style.  I like being self-sufficient.  And I’d like to save my sanity that morning.  Prejudging starts at 10 am.  I will have spray tanning to get done already, so another appointment to keep that morning will just cause more stress.  If I have my own makeup and know how to apply it, when I do another show, I’ll be set.

MAC makeup components are not horribly expensive, but if I got everything I needed from them – which is basically everything because I haven’t worn makeup for years, it would cost around $350.00, probably more.  Asked a competitor for advice.  She told me that I really should have the higher end stuff for the basic face stuff, but I could get away with less expensive makeup for my eyes if I got the higher quality eyelid primer.

I was on the end of town today where the fancy mall is located – the fancy mall where I never shop.  I dropped into the MAC store and bought the makeup I need from them.  Stopped at Walmart afterwards and got the rest.  Mostly.  I don’t have the lipstick yet.  I need a matte shade of pink.  They didn’t have one.  I saved a lot of money with this plan.

20120731-201908.jpg

It was a guessing game to pick out a foundation shade, considering I need to match 3 coats of spray tan I won’t have until the day of the show.  I read an article that suggested two colors that match competition tans.  I bought the lighter of the two with a bronzing powder that I will use to darken the color to match the tan if necessary.  They showed me how to do that.

So in addition to training twice a day, practicing my mandatory poses, and working the kinks out of my routine, I now will need to practice applying my makeup.  I’m not a complete noob at make up.  Wore it everyday for a couple decades.  But that routine was abandoned to make time to workout everyday, which ironically has led us to this point.  Stage makeup is new to me.  Using fake eyelashes is brand new to me.  YouTube.  I will be using YouTube for all of this.

Next distracting detail…fix the itchy parts of my sparkly suit.  I will need to find fabric to stitch or glue onto it to smooth things out.

So what’s next?  Hair?  I do have help with that, but a nice ponytail is starting to sound like a good idea.

Oh, there is another minor little thing on my mind – school starts a month from yesterday, the Monday after the competition.  It seems like a good idea to get a few lessons ready soon before the pressure of the show distracts me completely.

5 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Opinions, Venting, Ranting

5 responses to “$350 for Make Up? I Don’t Think So.

  1. Yet another thing I hadn’t even thought about until now. But makeup I’m good with – I like it, know how to do it, and feel comfortable wearing it (okay, I’m a bit of a girlie when it comes to makeup hehe). I’ve also done a lot of stage makeup, having spent a LOT of time on stage with performance (music / singing). So here’s my thoughts / suggestions (whether you want them or not lol):

    All of this is really adding up cost-wise. But at least the only thing with a short shelf life is the mascara (3 month shelf life from opening the tube, on average, before you need to dispose of it, due to bacteria build up). Regarding that, I absolutely recommend Maybelline’s Volum’Express waterproof. It’s awesome – better than any high end brand I’ve tried, and much cheaper. I’d say go for a waterproof because with the hot lights, you don’t want to sweat and end up with the whole raccoon look going on.

    Re lipsticks, take a look at Max Factor & Covergirl’s permanent lipsticks. You paint them on, then add a gloss-like cover, which comes with it. Both brands are identical, but Max Factor’s is a bit more expensive. There’s a wide range of shades to try, and lots of pinks. They’re literally UNMOVEABLE once you get them on, and must be removed with baby oil or makeup remover. So you don’t have to worry about constant re-application or getting it on your teeth – also not a good look.

    With blush, here’s a cute tip that works for me for long-lasting intense coverage that my stage mates use (I’ve done a lot of singing on stage, and have a few friends in the opera and suchlike, so I’m pretty familiar with stage makeup): use a creamy lipstick in the shade you want first, as blusher (this won’t work with the permanent lippies, just with ordinary lipstick). Rub it on your cheeks where you want it, and rub it in. That will give you a very natural “glow”. Then use powder blush in a similar colour over the top. The lipstick-as-blusher allows the powder blusher to “grab” as well as giving depth to the colour, and it will last longer and look better / more natural on stage. The only time to NOT use this is if you have significant wrinkling of the skin, as the cream blusher (lipstick) will settle into the lines more easily than a powder will. To be perfectly honest, I don’t even OWN a powder blusher – I just use a lipstick-as-blusher trick every day instead, as it looks really natural, and saves me having to buy a blush! But for stage you want a different intensity.

    Finally, price isn’t necessarily indicative of the quality of the product. In some cases it is, and in the more expensive products you will get depper pigments, which is what you want on stage. On thing you might want to look at when replacement time comes around for your products is to check out cosmetic lines designed for women of colour – they tend to have more intense pigments, and work very well for stage, at a much better (more realistic price). But MAC are certainly known for good pigment quality, although you pay through the nose for it! However you can certainly get away with cheaper brands for lipsticks, mascara (see above) and especially eyeliners – which are virtually identical across brands, and are even all (with just a couple of exceptions) mostly made in the same factory in Germany.

    Hope at least some of this is useful!

    Like

    • Wow! Tons of good info. Thank you! I already got mascara, but maybe I’ll return it. And the lip color suggestion is great. I think I need different shadows, too. These may have too much glimmer and I need matte.

      Like

  2. Goodluck with the competition and goodluck with applying your makeup!

    I have all sorts of tips on my blog that may help you.
    Have a looksie!

    Any questions, please feel free to ask!

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

