Week #156 Update

Countdown: 9 weeks, 4 days, 17 hours, 13 minutes, 5 seconds

Ugh.  I wish the fuzzy good feelings would hang around longer than they do.

I lost a little over 4 pounds since June 6th.  Gained back half a pound and am stalled out there now.  OK.  That’s probably OK…remember the “lost 9 pounds of fat, gained 3 pounds of muscle” result?

NO.  I do not remember that.  Every day is a new day.  And when carbs are low and I’m hungry, I WANT MEASURABLE RESULTS EVERYDAY.

I need new progress pics, but hubby and I never seem to be available/motivated to take them.

I’m not sure I like my new workout routine.  I’m vacillating on what to do with it.  Might go back to the 3-day split.  It’s always a little bit of a challenge during the summer when I’m not working.  The drive into town just to go to the gym is at least 20 min one way depending on traffic.  Two-a-day gym visits are 60 miles of driving a day.  I thought I could do some lifting at home, but I don’t like it.  However, I can get the cardio done at home.  So maybe all the lifting and one cardio should happen in the morning and the only thing I have to do at home is the second cardio and some abs. I hate complications.  I like “simple”.

I’m still motivated to make the Aug 25th show, but I go back and forth everyday about whether there is enough time.  I look at other competitors and they don’t seem to be as far away from “stage-ready” as I am.  Ignoring my interpretation of reality, I forge ahead reminding myself that comparisons to other people are not helpful.  It’s best to only compare to where I was yesterday, to the “me” last week, the “me” last month.  Nothing is wasted motion.  The path needs to be walked and it will take as many steps as it takes.  All of this (workouts, cardio, diet)  needs to happen and it will happen in the time it takes to happen.  Show or no show, I want to be 15-16% body fat.  That’s where I want to live.  From there, I will make a strategic assault on the 9-10% “stage-ready” conditioning.

Too many details stress me out.  I did make the hotel reservations.  That’s done.  Pretty soon, I need to think about ordering the second posing suit.  Need to get measurements done for that.  And the tan…what to do about that?  Hair?  Makeup?  Fake nails?  Bling?  Bling is covered. I want to wear my 40th birthday gift – diamond earrings and necklace. Got to get the music recorded.  Need to get that routine nailed down soon.  I hate these details!  And these are just the details I have to deal with about this competition.  There are some pretty big details that need to be dealt with in real life, too – things I don’t share in this blog because they aren’t related to the topic.

I just want to lift.

Why didn’t I set a power lifting goal???  So much easier and less complicated to be a power lifter.

1 Comment

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Workouts

One response to “Week #156 Update

  1. I hear everything you’re saying, but I will say it again – you always show so much dedication and work ethic in all that you do, and I know it’s going to pay off for you! Come show time you will be awesome no matter how unready you personally feel.
    You hit the nail on the head with the powerlifting thing, though. I’m sure there’s a point in our lifting careers where that even would get stressful, but I am at my happiest when I’m bullying a barbell around. If getting ready for a meet entails eating lots of carbs and slapping on a unitard – I think I could handle that 🙂

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

