My low calorie, low carb day…I’m surprised – I didn’t die.

Today is the first day of final exams.  For this math teacher, this is a low-stress day.  I watch kids take exams from 8 am until 11:30 am.  Then they leave,  I run the scantrons, and enter the grades.  Afternoons during final exams are quiet with few interruptions.  So I decided this would be a good week to start carb cycling again.  I’ve done it a couple of times, but didn’t see big results.  I  researched it again and found an article about a new study done where the participants ate normally except for two low carb days that are also low calorie days.  These days are not back-to-back.  When I read the plan, it wasn’t complicated.  Simple is good.   The low carb/low calorie combination could be good.  When I did low carb days before, I kept the calories constant.  I’m going to do those two days on “off” days from heavy lifting – Monday and Wednesday this week.  The total day is planned to be 1045 calories and 45 grams of carbs.  Very low. The rest of the week,  I’ll do 2000 calories and over 200 grams of carbs.  I’m not used to eating that many carbs, so that will be interesting.  This will be a shock to the system.

What follows is a log of my day today…  

4:30 am: Whey protein with water with BCAA and other supplements.  Growled at husband for eating all the string cheese when I needed one for today.

5:30-6:30 am: light lifting (abs, calves, hyperextensions) and a 20 min HIIT cardio on StairMonster

6:30: post-workout supplements (two BCAA, etc…)  No shake

7:30: 5 egg whites and 1 cup spinach, coffee with creamer – at this point, I’ve taken in 200 calories  and about 6.7 grams of carbs.  Basically running on fumes.

8:05 am: Handing out final exams and got short with kids for showing up without a pencil.  OK – that would have happened anyway.  This is freakin’ precalculus – who shows up for a final exam without a pencil???

9:00 am: I’m a little hungry and kind of foggy in the head.   Really looking forward to that string cheese I have planned at 9:30.

10:00 am: – string cheese – 30 min late for that snack – grrrrr!  Timing not great.  The break between the two final exams was from 9:35 until 9:50.  Lots to do during the last 5 minutes of the test, the break, and during the first 10 min of the next test.  I have decided that water and Crystal Light will save me today.  Probably more Crystal Light than I should have since I’m supposed to be a “clean eater”, but I don’t care.  I’m now at 288 calories and 7.2 grams of carbs.  My calorie deficit is now 728 calories.

10:30 am: Starting to grade the free response questions on my precalculus final.  Already screwed up a couple of times, but caught it.  Damn it!  Head in the game, TeacherGirl!! Head – In – The – Game!!!  Use ALL of your brain.  You don’t need carbs.  I AM SO SMRT!

11:45 am: LUNCH TIME!!

4 ounces chicken breast, 1 cup asparagus stir fry vegetables, and 1 Tbsp of my favorite dressing, Annie’s Roasted Red Pepper.  242 calories and 5.5 grams of carbs.  Total for the day so far is 530 calories and 12.7 carbs.  Deficit = 616 right now.  How the hell do people do this low/no carb stuff everyday?  My brain is very fuzzy.

Major temptation!!  I was digging through my food drawer in my file cabinet at work looking for more Crystal Light.  No more.  But I did find a couple of Jolly Ranchers, two boxes of stale raisins, a stale granola bar, and two miniature cereal boxes.  Tossed the raisins, bar, and the cereal.  The bar broke open and I had to hold it outside of the wrapper.  That was tough.  I didn’t toss the candy.  It’s not that I want to save it – I didn’t want to touch it.  Jolly Ranchers don’t spoil.  They can just sit in the bottom of that drawer undisturbed.

1:30 pm: I sliced a hard-boiled egg and ate it  s l o w l y.  This felt like a whole meal.

4:00 pm:  Home now and I need to finish food prep for the rest of the week.  This is going to be difficult.  Making the oatmeal will be OK, but slicing strawberries without sampling?  Tough, tough, tough.  I did plan to have an apple right now – and I just did.  So far today I’ve eaten 689 calories and 34 grams of carb.  Prior to that apple, carbs were at 13 grams, so I should get a nice energy boost in a few minutes.  Long enough to get through the strawberry chore, make dinner, and then get the heck out of the kitchen.  I hope.

5:15 pm: Dinner.  4 oz of tilapia, 1 cup of asparagus stir fry, 1 tablespoon of Annie’s Roasted Red Pepper dressing.

6:15 pm: 1 cup of unsweetened almond milk, 1 scoop chocolate whey protein.  Took 2 more BCAA’s.  Probably should have take more throughout the day.  I’ll do better on Wednesday.

I was a little fuzzy and a little grumpy all day.  Mood just a tiny bit blue.  I’m very grateful I’m not going to do this two days in a row.

999 total calories for the day and 44 grams of carbs.

I hope that’s the total – I’m not supposed to have any more today.  I think the best plan is just to go to bed.  Take a couple Tylenol PM and sleep.  First thing in the morning, before I head to the gym, I get oatmeal and blueberries!!  Pretty sure it’s going to be the BEST tasting oatmeal and blueberries I’ve ever had.  I’m doing dead ifts tomorrow morning, so that oatmeal has a lot of work to do!

3 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Nutrition

3 responses to “My low calorie, low carb day…I’m surprised – I didn’t die.

  1. It took a lot of concentration to finish this post. Energy is pretty low. Please forgive any typos.

    Like

  2. Que

    I commend your effort. My first response was, WOW! I need to tap into your strength/perseverance.

    Like

    • Thanks! It wanes every so often, but the daily routines and advanced food prep save my butt. I’ve already had more carb grams this morning than I had all day yesterday and I feel great. The second low day is tomorrow or Friday. Haven’t decided yet.

      Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

