The “Perfect” Training Log – Does it exist?

I’ve been using an academic year planner as a training log.  I like it because it’s dated, there is one day per page, and it is 5.5 in x 8 in – a very nice size for carrying around the gym.  The spiral binding keeps the holes from breaking and pages from falling out.  It is just the right size to hold my pen.  But it only has a month of pages left.  I need a new one.

Now that I’m doing this 5 x 5 program, there are 9 weeks of lifting on a spreadsheet.  I could print it and put it on a clipboard.  All the weights are there, but there isn’t any room to write the little notes I like to put in my log like “tired today”, “tweaked a back muscle”,  or just smiley faces.

I’m looking for ideas/inspiration.  What do you use for your training log?

4 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Workouts

4 responses to “The “Perfect” Training Log – Does it exist?

  1. I use a small notebook. But I don’t bring it to the gym with me (germs!). Rather, I write out my plan for the day on a piece of folded thick-stock paper, take it to the gym with me, and transcribe into my notebook when I get home. High tech! But, really, I too strugged for many many years trying to find a better way and this seems to be what works best for me.

    Like

  2. I’m still figuring it out. I’ve been using printouts my PT gives me, which have the exercise, weight & reps in, and I log what I do. It’s A4 and there’s room for everything I need to write. The downside is that I haven’t been dating everything, so I’ve not good very good records of how much / when I’ve improved over time.

    I’m buying a smartphone, and going to be trialing various apps that are available. But I think a small notebook is probably as efficient as anything. In the end, it’s about what works for you, and everyone is different.

    Like

  3. I use an excel spreadsheet. One sheet per day, it has space for notes at the bottom and it lasts me for 3 weeks. When they are full I put them in a binder. I like this method because it allows me to look back at Monday of last week and see what weights I was at and where I need to push myself this week.

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

