Week #149

Week #149 updates…New Food PlanMeasurementsWorkouts

Food Plan

This week I removed grains from my meal plans.  (See my post “New Week, New Food”)  It didn’t suck.  I missed my morning post-workout oatmeal, but overall, I felt like I had more energy.  I lost a couple of pounds from Monday am to Saturday am.

Measurements

Circumference measurements were done on Monday morning by the same person who did them before.  When compared to the measurements five weeks ago, these were the changes…

  • Weight: down 1.5 pounds
  • Neck: down 0.25 inches
  • Shoulders: up 0.5 inches
  • Chest: up 0.25 inches
  • Waist: down 0.25 inches
  • Hips: no change
  • Both Thighs: up 0.25 inches each
  • Right Calf: up 0.25 inches
  • Left Calf: up 0.5 inches (Yay!  Calves are the same size now.)
  • Right Arm: up 0.75 inches
  • Left Arm: up 1 inch (uh huh – 1 inch in 5 weeks – she checked it twice)
  • Right Forearm: up 0.25
  • Left Forearm: down 0.5 (not pleased to lose size, but the forearms are the same size now)

She didn’t check my body fat.  Not sure why.  It was 4:15 am on Monday morning and I’m not paying for this service, so I was grateful to get what I was getting.  Probably doesn’t matter anyway.

I am pleased that most measurements are going up.  I did target biceps and shoulders over the last month, so it’s nice to see those results.  The loss of size in the neck and waist indicate some fat loss.  Maybe. From the mirror, I look a little leaner in my face, upper abdomen area, shoulders, and upper arms.

According to the “big plan” though, I’m 12 pounds heavier than I’m supposed to be right now.  And the Bodybugg used the new measurements to calculate body fat and lean mass – those numbers come out to be a loss in both categories.  I’m about 75% sure that I should ignore that.  For this bodybuilder, it’s psychologically better to assume that a size gain and a weight loss means I’m on the right track, even if it’s slower than I’d like to be moving.

What do you think it means?  I could use some feedback on this.

Workouts

I let my back rest last week and was a little cautious this week.  I lifted between 60-80% of my max weights and increased reps to 12-15 on some exercises.  I was ready to change the program in anticipation of bad results from the measurements.  When I saw that most things grew, I decided to keep doing what I’ve been doing for another week, but after 6 weeks of the same program, I think changes will need to be made to avoid adaptation.   I’m thinking about switching from the 3 day split to a two-a-day lifting routine for a week or two.  I liked two lifts a day when I did it last summer, but I did it for too long – over a month.  A couple of weeks might be just right.  I’d still like to use supersets and giant sets.  I love the amount of work I get done in a short amount of time.

As I sit here on “rest day”, the only thing that feels sore are my upper traps.  A little stiffness, but no soreness.  I’m not sure if that’s a good thing.  I’m not happy with the lifting this week – no personal records.  But that doesn’t mean it wasn’t a smart thing to do considering the back pain I’ve had over the last three weeks.  I just feel like I didn’t push as hard as I should have sometimes.  Maybe that’s OK. We’ll see, won’t we?  I suppose if I’m growing, it’s working.

I might have found the right combination of supplements to keep the cortisol down, so I increased cardio this week.  I did HIIT a couple times in the morning after lifting and I came back and did a low, slow cardio in the afternoons for 45 min to 60 min. I feel like I need to have 500-700 calorie deficits every day to lose the fat, and I think I’ll keep most of my muscle by eating every few hours.  To get those deficits, I need to move more.  Can’t really change a lot about the job, so this week, I did the extra steady-state cardio every afternoon. Lots of research out there about how that is very bad for muscle.  But it’s been fun and relaxing now that I don’t get the cortisol reaction.  And it’s quality time with my Kindle.   But  I need to be smart about this.  I did twist a knee a little the other day – nothing serious, but it’s an indication of a little overuse.  The two-a-day lifts with HIIT two or three times each week, might shock the system into doing something fabulous with fat burn.  Especially when I’m not eating grains.

Today is “rest day”, but I do have a new routine to introduce to my week – posing practice.  I’ve been doing a little bit here and there, but not enough.  I promised myself that once I was done studying for the personal training exam, I’d get serious.  I need to do a little everyday, but on rest days, I’m going to put in a lot of time.  Hubby got me some closet door mirrors to set up for this purpose.

Ok – so it’s time to get up off my glutes and get it done!

2 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Cortisol, Nutrition, Workouts

2 responses to “Week #149

  1. Glad you are enjoying such amazing progress! You constantly amaze me with your bad assery.

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

