New Week, New Food

Experimenting this week.   I’m going to remove all grains and replace those carbs with fibrous carbs – veggies.  For the past…well, forever…I’ve been eating oatmeal with my eggs.  Some weeks, I have brown rice at lunch, sometimes whole wheat pasta.  I don’t usually have other grains during the day.  On weekends, I’ll have toast instead of oatmeal.  Not a lot to replace, but I’m still curious to find out what will happen.

Preworkout Meal #1: banana, whey protein & cytocarb shake

Postworkout Meal #2: vanilla whey protein & cytocarb shake with cinnamon at gym after lifting;  4 scrambled egg whites, strawberries, blueberries when I get to work.

Meal #3: ground turkey and yams

Meal #4: fiesta veggies with chicken breast and roasted red pepper dressing, celery, and freshly ground peanut butter

Preworkout Meal #5: cauliflower, red pepper strips, hummus

Postworkout Meal #6: vanilla whey protein & cytocarb shake with cinnamon, small apple

Meal #7: tilapia and sliced cucumber

Meal #8: bedtime whey & casein shake

Overall, the daily calories are the same and the macronutrient ratios are the same – protein 40%, carbs 40%, fats 20%. But the volume of food is greater.  Not sure what to expect.  The hope is to trigger fat loss, of course.  Can’t eat the same way all the time and expect different results.  Shake things up a bit.   I’ll update this post with a comment at the end of the week.

8 Comments

Filed under Nutrition

8 responses to “New Week, New Food

  1. lethalastronaut

    Looks really good and organised. And the berries look YUM.

    Yeah, I’m doing the same thing at the moment – organising my eating, which has been really haphazard while the rellies have been staying with us, and with Easter and Passover coming one on the other at the same weekend. I found the book “Power Eating” (was it you that recommended it?) quite useful.

    Like

    • Nope – you told me about Power Eating. I think I told you about the Eat Clean Diet books. I don’t really have time to cook with recipes anymore. I need to keep things simple. The strawberries were on sale – not organic, so probably not the best choice. (They were so large they looked like mutant strawberries.) The blueberries were frozen.

      Like

  2. If you are anything like me, you will LOVE eating like this! It takes a little adjusting, and the first couple days you might feel a little “brain fog,” but as long as you’re getting carbs from natural sources, that probably won’t be the case. I still enjoy pasta, bread, etc maybe on a weekly or every other week basis, but I don’t miss it or crave it horribly. Best of luck, I think this will be something you really enjoy!

    Like

    • Thanks! I’m kind of excited. It feels like the right change to make at this point. But I’m HUNGRY today! I miss my oatmeal. That’s what I’m going to miss the most after my morning workout. My husband correctly asked…”But I thought you didn’t like peppers?” I replied that the list of foods I like that I’m not allowed to eat anymore is getting longer. I need to learn to appreciate the new foods. I can’t have sugar at all, so those sweet peppers are a treat.

      Like

      • Yeah, sometimes I miss my post workout peanut butter jelly sandwich time, and sometimes I cave to that because even if it’s just a mental “need” I have to give in to preserve my sanity, but it happens less and less as of yet. You will figure it out quick. The feeling hungry all the time thing happens to me any time I change my diet even a little bit – I think it’s just a hang up of being comfortable with a certain way of doing things and then trying to convince yourself change is good. My body is fond of habit, even if there are better options out there.
        And I hear ya on the peppers – that used to be me and sweet potatoes. They tasted like baby food to me, I probably ate 2 in my entire life before November of last year, lol. Now, they are like my favorite sweet and salty treat… I dream about them. It’s weird how even in our adulthood our tastes in food can change so dramatically!

        Like

        • I have a similar experience with sweet potatoes. They are like pumpkin pie to me now. Big treat. Big, big treat. Hope I can keep them in the meal plans for a long time. I might have to give them up when I get closer to contest.

          Like

          • You have guts, girl. And determination! It will pay off huge for you, and totally be worth it. I admire anyone who can sacrifice to reach their goals!

            Like

            • Thank you! I wasn’t brave when I was younger. Now, I act brave. I’m not. I just do it anyway. I have a lot of “what the hell were you thinking?” moments now that I’m less than 18 weeks away from the reality. It was a lot less intimidating two years ago.

              Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

