Mission Impossible – NOT

My mission, and I CHOOSE TO ACCEPT IT – lose 25 pounds in 90 days.  And not only will I not lose muscle, I will gain some.  Ultimately, I will need to be at 10% body fat by the end of August.  After 90 days, I’ll be about 3 pounds short of that 8 weeks out from show.

First step happened this morning – regular measurements.  I haven’t had them done since Labor Day.  There was a lot of “weirdness” in my program from July until October.  I spent November to February researching, regrouping, and putting the pieces of my broken program back together.  (It’s been a roller coaster.  I had more muscle and lost it because… well never mind why.  If you know me, you know what happened. Let’s just say that if you are looking for personal training in my area, I have a very strong opinion about a place you should avoid.)

Now that I have new numbers, I wanted to compare to previous data to see what’s happened.  I decided to rewind back a full year.  Back to when I started training to get big.  Back before things got weird.  And I happen to have data from March 17th, 2011.

In one full year I have gained 17.6 pounds.  Of that, 10.5 pounds is muscle.  Body fat went up a net 2.1% in that year.   All circumference measurements predictably increased, even though some parts are lagging.

  • Neck: + 1 inch
  • Chest: + 4.3 inches
  • Right Bicep: +0.2 inches (Left is larger.  Think that’s due to my gimpy right shoulder.)
  • Right Forearm: + 0.2 inches
  • Waist: + 2.3 inches
  • Hip (the booty muscles): +3.4 inches
  • Right Thigh: +3.8 inches <insert happy dance – worked HARD on that area>
  • Calf: +1 inch

Everyone I know has told me that I get too caught up with the numbers.  I can’t help it.  Data is how I make sense of things.  And I love these numbers.  I’m proud of these numbers.   In the past year, I’ve gained and lost and gained fat.  I built muscle, lost some, and haven’t gained it all back.  But I’m proud of myself for not quitting when I had the chair pulled out from under me.

The purpose of this blog when I started it was to hold myself accountable in a public way.  So YAY YOU for reading it, encouraging me, and even slapping me around a little bit over the last two years.

It’s time to start a new phase.  Time to look at what’s left to do and set new targets.  I know I need to lose 25 pounds of fat.  Major overhaul to training and a minor tweak to diet starts on Monday.  I’ll blog on it when I have the details worked out.

4 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal

4 responses to “Mission Impossible – NOT

  1. growingmuscle

    Well done, 10lbs of muscle is a good amount in one year! Good luck on your goals

    Like

  2. lethalastronaut

    25 pounds of fat is a huge ask of yourself, but if anyone can do it, it’s you! If you can share any tips along the way, this blubbery reader wants to learn them!

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

