I need a pep talk. Or a cup of tea.

I’ve been hearing a lot of this lately… “do it for yourself”  or “be your best on that day”.  OK.  I get that.  But I think I’ve heard it one too many times.  Now when I hear it, I get the feeling that people who say it to me think I’m on a lark, as if I’m doing all this training and dieting for some weird little mid-life crisis.  When I’m feeling insecure, I start to think that way, too.

It’s probably time for measurements or pictures or something.  I need document some progress.

I could just be feeling the stress of everything.  There has been a lot of it lately.  There are things going on in life that will bring more.  That’s what life does.

And let’s be honest – a 50 year old post-menopausal woman can have a mood swing every so often.

So I’m sitting here with my cortisol pumping and my chest feeling tight from it.  Worrying about it makes more.

So you know what I’m going to do?  I’m going to make myself a cup of tea, crawl into bed, and read the book D loaned me.  Old school bodybuilding.  I’ll plan my leg workout that’s coming up at 4:30 am tomorrow.  Leg day is always awesome.  I used that book to plan my arm workout this morning and it was wonderful.

All biceps/triceps supersets…

  • Seated Back Supported DB Curl, 4x4x4 (4 full reps, 4 partial reps at the top, 4 partial reps at the bottom + 1 Arm Tricep Curl
  • EZ Bar Curls (wide, medium, close grip) – I did 10 reps each grip with light weight, then 8 reps each heavier, then 6 reps each at heaviest weight + Tricep Reverse Grip Pulldown with Lat pull bar
  • Spider DB curls + Rope Pushdowns
  • High Cable Curls + One Arm Tricep Cable Pulldown
2 Comments

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Life, Workouts

2 responses to “I need a pep talk. Or a cup of tea.

  1. Everyone goes through the whole blahhhhhhhheugh thing. Don’t let it hit you. Take the weekend out, relax (as you say), and just take your mind out of the gym for a while. Do other stuff.

    Maybe you just need a three day break. Then come back to it, refreshed and relaxed, an you’ll know why, when you hit the gym and the endorphins kick in, why you do it.

    Like

  2. Can’t take a break just because I’m tired. I’m 24 weeks from competition. Besides, I only lift 4 days a week. No way am I giving up any of them if I can help it. I did legs this morning. Doing it makes me feel better than not doing it.

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

