This bodybuilder needs to have faith.

Bodybuilding isn’t for a person who needs instant gratification.  Changes happen   S   L   O   W   L   Y.  But it happens as long as you’re consistent.  Stick with the program.  Stick with the nutrition.  I made some mistakes.  I’ve let myself get distracted.  But I never quit.  I lift, I eat, and I sleep.  And I slowly grow muscle.

“No matter how many mistakes you make or how slow you progress, you are still way ahead of everyone who isn’t trying.”  ~ Nicole Wilkins, 2011 Figure Olympia

But the key word is SLOWLY.  Micro changes happen each day and they add up.  I’ve gained almost 10 pounds in the last year and a lot of that is lean mass = muscle.  I know it’s there, but I don’t always see it.  Some days are better than others.  Like today.  Back day.  Back day is always an excellent day.  I see the development and I feel it.  Leg days are like that, too.  But shoulder day is not so great.  I can’t see my delts.  Others can see development and try to convince me that they are growing, but I don’t see what I want to see, so I’m blind to it most of the time.  Every once in a while I catch a glimpse of something new at the top of my arms, but that doesn’t happen often.

My faith in the process isn’t blind, but it’s really far-sighted.  I have a picture in my head of the sculpture I’m creating.  I’m standing very close to my work, so I don’t see progress some days.

But today I saw something that was very exciting.  I saw something that confirmed my faith in the process.  While I was doing a standing lat pushdown, I saw a small part of my quadricep twitch that I’ve never seen before.  Legs are bigger, fat is dropping.  A line in my pecs is starting to show, too – without flexing.  If the light is right.  🙂

This just might work.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

