Need to Make Some Changes

I’m frustrated with my lifting routine.  Why?  Because it’s NOT really MY lifting routine.  I’m following the guys.  After three months of it, I’ve made gains, and I’m very grateful for that, but I’ve been getting frustrated and annoyed over the last couple of weeks.  I don’t get to do some exercises  (like deadlifts) because they can’t do them (injuries) or they don’t want to do them.  We workout out together from 5 am until 6:30. I like to warm up and stretch, so I have to get there by 4:45 every day – earlier if I want to do something they don’t do – like deadlifts.  When I lift with the guys, I get about 20-30 working sets done in 90 minutes.  On my own, I could do that same amount of work in an hour.  I could sleep a little later or add in a little cardio if I were on my own.

Socially, I don’t really fit into the group very well.  These guys aren’t my friends, but they are usually nice.  The leader has been wonderful and has taught me a lot.  There is still a lot I could learn about lifting from him, too.  But everyday the other guys have been crude, sometimes rude, and one has been disrespectful.  I don’t have a lot of patience for disrespect.  I have a big goal – and none of them are working toward a goal.  The leader is a serious lifter and wants to get stronger, but the others are just gym rats.  I don’t have time for crap throwing and BS.  Over it.

And some “life” things have changed.  There are new things I need to attend to.  I quit my weekend gym job because  I need to be at home on weekends now.  I’ve been taking Wednesdays off from lifting and have been growing, so I don’t want to mess with that.  So it looks like I need to rearrange things so that I’m lifting 4 days a week instead of 5.  Problem is that I have 5 workouts.

So changes are necessary.

The change I’m thinking about today… cycle my workouts.  I’ll take Wednesdays, Saturdays, and Sundays off from lifting.  I’ll do cardio on Wednesdays and one of the weekend days.  One rest day completely off.

The lifting workouts will no longer be attached to any particular day of the week.  They will go in order and fall where they fall.

 

Mon

Tues

Wed

Thu

Fri

Week 1

Legs

Chest

Cardio

Shoulders

Back

Week 2

Arms

Legs

Cardio

Chest

Shoulders

Week 3

Back

Arms

Cardio

Legs

Chest

Week 4

Shoulders

Back

Cardio

Arms

Legs

Week 5

Chest

Shoulders

Cardio

Back

Arms

What I like about this schedule is that over a five week period, every body part will be worked twice after a rest day and I’ll have more time for recovery.  The way I’ve been working out forever, only legs and back have been done after a rest day.  I’ve wondered about how rotating the workouts would effect development, so this will answer that question for me.   If I’m lifting on the same rotations as the guys, they will get in my way.  I like how this schedule will change things up without having to change the order I’m working the muscle groups.   However, I don’t like missing a workout each week.  Can’t be helped.  Life requires my attention on weekends now – at least until school is out in June.

Does anyone see any major flaw in this plan??  Please leave a comment if you do.  If not, I’m going to start this next week.

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Workouts

2 responses to “Need to Make Some Changes

  1. Jill

    I admire you breaking free from the routine and do what is best for you at this time. Sometimes this is harder to do that it would seem.
    One way to get your five day schedule to four is to combine your arm workout with your chest and upper back workout. For example, on your chest day include your triceps workout and on your upper back day include your biceps workout. That way, you are doing a major and minor muscle group on each of those two days. I’ve been working a program similar to this and the gains in strength have been remarkable. Just a thought.
    Also, you don’t work abs?

    Like

    • Thanks! Thought of that but I’m trying to get ginormous so I train every muscle group as a major group. After I do back or chest, the arms are too tired to do their own work. I do bi’s and tri’s together. I work out twice almost everyday. Abs, calves get rotated into the afternoon workouts. Compound moves hit abs, too.

      Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

