Last Hamstring Workout of 2011

December 21, 2011 has been one of the best days ever!!!

Woke up and did my daily check for abs in the bathroom mirror. Yay! I’m starting to see a little more definition. And that’s happening without cardio or dieting. I believe my plan to lean out by growing more muscle just might be working.

Hamstring workout at gym was good, but not awesome. To be honest, hamstrings are not my favorite workout. For the second week in a row, I did my max of 185 pounds on my RDL. That’s good and I like RDLs. But my quads were still sore from Sunday’s workout, so glute-ham raises on the glute-ham bench was not working. Too much pressure on the sore quads. I did them using the cable. Leg curls were ok. I’m sort of stuck on leg curls with regards to weight increases. On a good day like today, I can get up to 75 pounds, but not always and never more than 75 pounds. I need to take hamstrings more seriously, I think.

When I got to work, I found this incredible snowman on my classroom door. I stood outside the door for about 5 min just looking at it and taking pictures. Cried a little bit. I was very moved by the effort and creativity.

Got a call to tell me my new glasses were ready to pick up. I didn’t expect them to be ready for a couple more weeks, so that was also a good surprise.

Then one of my favorite things – a massage from Diana. It’s not just the massage I enjoy. It’s the conversation. She’s an amazing woman.

When I got home, there was something unexpected in the mail. A necklace from Coach Kim – pendant with a message – “Whether you think you can or think you can’t, you’re right.” That’s Kim’s response to my message to her last week that I might not be ready for an August show.

And husband made some wonderful, clean soup and baked a wonderful, not clean, chocolate cake.

So the hamstring workout wasn’t the greatest. So what? I’m very grateful for the day. I’m very grateful for the ability to workout like I do. I’m grateful for my students. I’m grateful for my friends. I’m very grateful for my husband. I’m super duper grateful to have been given the chance to be really LIVING my life. Every day is a blessing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bodybuilding Journal, Old Posts, Workouts

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

