I don’t do SICK very well.

I am not nice when I’m sick.  I’m not supposed to get sick.  I haven’t been sick in a couple of years.  So, NO, I’m not a good sick person.  I’m annoyed.

Moderate exercise strengthens your immune system and intense exercise may weaken it.  Now I know most people don’t think what I’m doing is “moderate”, but from what I read, the “intense” exercise they refer to is long sessions of cardio – like marathon runners.   “Moderate” is daily exercise up to 40 minutes that gets you breathing a little bit harder than normal.  People who workout like that are pushing the blood through their bodies faster and that seems to make it more effective at attacking the nasty stuff we are exposed to.

I read somewhere that most people get 2-3 respiratory infections a year.   If I’ve had them, I didn’t notice them too much.  So I guess I’m due.  But this one – oh, this one is a bitch.   I hope the whole thing is going to move through me as fast as it started.  About 24 hours of light head cold symptoms before it moved into the chest.  That’s where it is now on day 2.  Got the Sudafed, Zicam, and Vicks going.  Going through Kleenex like crazy.

I was supposed to proctor an ACT test this morning.  I called in sick for that because I needed to sleep in.  Very annoyed to lose that money.  I can’t call in sick for my desk job at the gym – it’s more effort than I feel I can exert to call around to find someone to cover me.  Easier to show up and do my five hours and then come home and go back to bed.

So far, I haven’t missed a lifting workout.  And I wasn’t going to do cardio anyway because my left ankle is not 100%.  But if I miss legs tomorrow, I’ll be bummed.  I actually dreamed about my quads last night.  Still too small, but I’m seeing definition now.  If I can’t breathe well, I’ll probably do a light workout with machines.

Poop.  I am not happy.  I am not a good sick person.

Last night, sitting on the couch feeling annoyed, I did a search on one of my favorite body builders from the 80’s, Anja Langer.  She came in 2nd at the Ms. Olympia in 1988 – the Goddess Cory Everson won that year.   Cory and Anja are my two favorites of all time.  I found this video last night of Anja.  She is an inch taller than me at 5’7″.  When I look at pics of  women wh0 are doing well in natural bodybuilding these days, they are short – 5 foot nothing.   It takes a little more work to build muscle on a taller frame.  I don’t know if I’ll be competitive next to those short women.  I don’t care.  I can’t make myself shorter.  I’m competing with myself and I love Anja’s look.  This – this is my target – maybe a little bigger.  Love the front most muscular pose with the right leg out.  Wow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Old Posts

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

