A Conversation with God 21 Years Ago…

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.”

Proverbs 3:5-6

I need to read these verses more often…should I get them tattooed on my hand or something??

When I forget and try to control things in my life, there is stress.  Sometimes a huge mess.  My own understanding has never been enough.  In  November 1990, my mom died unexpectedly at age 56.  A few weeks later, I remember having a conversation with God while sitting in my car in a parking garage at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis.   It was the end of the first semester when I had started back to college after a 10 year break.  I was back at school taking final exams because my professors would not give me more time because of her death.  It was a tough, tough time.

So that conversation about 21 years ago to the day, went like this…

“Dear God,
I PROMISE to do the work.  I will work as hard as I can.  Please just point me in the right direction.  I can’t do this by myself.”

It took some time to settle my mother’s estate, but once that was done, life changes started happening very quickly.  I moved.  I met my husband.  We moved.  I became a teacher.  I became a teacher at Hug High School with the most wonderful kids who tackle some big obstacles.  Then I lost weight.  Then I started this bodybuilding thing.

Hit a bump…

But I stuck to the path laid out in front of me.  And you know what?  My support system was multiplied by 10.  Still meeting new people who seem to have no motives other than to share their passion for fitness and helping others.  I hope I can provide the same kind of support in return.

I promised to do the work.  And I love it all.  Marriage, teaching, now fitness…I will keep to the path and will continue to remind myself that I’m not the one in control.  Quote I saw on a FB page yesterday…

“More of Him.  Less of us.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Old Posts

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

