"Kick My Ass" Week, Day #4 = Shoulders


I did OK. I tried to up the weights for this workout this week, but it didn’t work. Feeding schedule was messed up today. I waited too long to eat this morning and even had a dizzy spell. Didn’t feel as strong as I should have.

No matter. I was able to lift the same weights from last week and I handled them better. No – wait – I did increase the weight for dumbbell shrugs. 65 pounds. Traps were fine and able to handle more weight. My limit for that exercise is the grip. Even with straps. Maybe I need to get a pair of those hook glove things I’ve seen around.

I also added a couple new things to my workouts this week I haven’t mentioned. For the big exercises, I finish with a drop set going back down the weight I started with on set #1. I’m getting a nice burn, pumping blood into that muscle.

I’m also trying new exercises and adding in a new one occasionally. Today, I did the lateral raise machine. Pretty happy about being able to do it, because I haven’t been able to do this exercise because of my shoulder problem. No issues today with it. Very happy about that.

So maybe it wasn’t really a “kick ass” workout. It was a decent one. And I did an exercise I couldn’t do months ago. For shoulders, that’s just fine.

1 Comment

Filed under Old Posts

One response to “"Kick My Ass" Week, Day #4 = Shoulders

  1. And… My friend Kim has agreed to help my nutrition plan. That's perfect. She's the one who taught me everything at the beginning of my journey. She's the one I trust – my first choice – always. Knowing the battles she's fought and won during this time, it humbles me that she's still thinking of me. And there for me when I need her. Wow. Having her run with me during this leg of the race is amazing.

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

