Today’s the Day!

Measurements later today. Working toward this day since April. Big day. This is what I was supposed to get done…

1) body fat = 18%
2) add 1.5 inches to my arms
3) increase size of quad sweep
I don’t think I hit the arm goal. That goal was probably a little ambitious, so I’ll be OK if I don’t hit it, as long as there is some growth. Same with the sweep.
But the body fat number is my greatest worry. I feel like August was a wasted month – I just maintained and don’t feel like I made significant progress. I came off the two-a-days so I was tired. Paul was traveling so routines at home were different. I was working at the gym and that screwed up my workout schedules. First month I was working on my own without a trainer. And I wasn’t really confident about what I was doing. I thought I was supposed to be maintaining my weight. And I did. Maybe I was supposed to? I don’t know. But then I realized that I can’t gain muscle at the same rate as I can lose fat, so the weight should be dropping. Figured that out a couple weeks ago. Took another week to get that theory confirmed, so I’ve been working like crazy for 9 days to do what I think I should have been doing slowly for a month. I’ve lost 4 pounds in 9 days. It’s not a lot, so I’m hoping it was a lot of water and some fat.
I’m very afraid that I may have screwed up and lost lean body mass. The general opinion out there is that if I kept the protein up and kept lifting, I’d be OK. But I haven’t been able to lift well in the last week (low energy). I’ve been extremely moody, so the stress levels have been high. All predictable side effects of low carbs. And I increased the cardio – I can’t tell you how many different opinions are being hurled at me about the cardio. It’s very confusing.
My weight this morning is 145.8 pounds. If I maintained the lean body mass I had in July, my body fat is at exactly 18% today. I’ve lost weight, so something went away. I can tell from the mirror that I’m leaner. I know how to lose fat. It’s the muscle that worries me. If I lost muscle, I’m going to be very upset.
If the numbers turn out well, I’ll feel reassured that I can do this on my own. That’s what’s on the line for me today. It’s not just about the 18% number. I’m kind of trapped between a rock and a hard place right now. I can’t afford training, but I think I need it. If I can’t progress on my own – well, I just have to, don’t I? Might just take longer than a month to figure it out.
The numbers are important. I know non-bodybuilders look at me and say “but you look great”. I appreciate that, I really do. Compared to where I was in June 2009, I’m thrilled and proud of what I’ve done. But I’m looking forward now. Looking slim and fit isn’t my goal. It’s about getting large and lean.
Leave a comment

Filed under Old Posts

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

