Tammy’s Hammered Hammies

My shift at the gym desk today started at 6 am and ended at 2 pm. I stood or was walking around for all but about 20 minutes of the 8 hours. It was a GREAT “warm up” for hamstrings today. My legs were very tired by the time I started lifting at 2:30-ish. And I’m also trying to find pockets of time during the weekends when I can do my chores – laundry, food prep, house work. And time for something that is definitely not a chore – being home with hubby. So I decided to do only three exercises for hamstrings, but do six working sets for each instead of four or five sets. Fewer exercises would save time transitioning and more sets will exhaust the muscles a little bit more. Or at least that was what I hoped would happen.
Oh gosh. It was a good call for today. I started hitting absolute failure at the end of the second exercise and had to adjust weights back down in the middle of the third exercise. There was grunting. There was swearing. It was awesome. In total, I did fewer sets than I normally do, but my hamstrings are cramping nicely. I ended the workout with 20 minutes of StairMonster and 20 minutes walking on the treadmill.
The Workout – 15 reps each set – total working sets = 18
RDLs: (bar) – 65 – 75 – 75 – 75 – 85 – 85 (I tend to go too heavy on RDLs, so today, I left off the belt, kept the weights lower, and focused on correct form and working hamstrings more than back.)
Leg Curl: (30) – 45 – 45- 45 – 60 – 60- 60(14.5 reps = failure!)
Seated Leg Curl: 120 – 120 – 135 – 135(12) – 120 – 125
1 Comment

Filed under Old Posts

One response to “Tammy’s Hammered Hammies

  1. RDLs are my favorite way to pull little muscles in my back. Nothing today – and the most recent SLBM seems to be healed up. Sweet. That healing time is getting faster and faster. I stretch and cool down every workout. I think that helps. And I'm sure those muscles are just getting stronger.

    Like

Thanks for reading! Thoughts?

